Caglar Araz's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Caglar’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Danish, English, Turkish; learning German
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Student
  • Bachelor in English with minor in Physical Education
  • From Denmark
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

Welcome to my quick profile. Before explaining about myself, I want to explain my situation. Right now, I'm sitting in Starbucks somewhere on Manhattan hoping to have a place to stay. I have basically one week left in America before I return to my country (Denmark), so I decided to make a 3-day-trip to Manhattan and see some of the main attractions.

Moving on to me, I think if you asked someone else what they thought of me, I think they would say: humble, friendly, nice guy, social. Values I believe is admired across all cultures. I'm a very family driven person, and I enjoy the company of people in general.

Between June and now, I've worked as an au pair for two families: one in California and one in Virginia near DC (Arlington). It's been a rich experience, and I'm very sad to be leaving, because I love the US and I've met amazing people who have been very like minded, sweet and welcoming towards me.

When I come back to Denmark, I will finish my bachelor degree (I have some few more courses left), and between february and may I will do military service in the air force. Note, that this is just introductory and just the first step if you want to do something in the military. I'm just doing it for experience and to try something else. It's a very valuable thing to have done military service, and I'm sure I will learn a lot in terms of group work, how to handle stressed situations, problem solving etc. We don't get send out, and if we were, I don't think I would have done it.

Coming from two cultures (my family is Turkish), I'm very culturally aware. America is no exception to

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Because I decided to go on a spontaneous trip to NYC before I leave America to explore some of the main attractions here. Right now, I'm sitting in Starbucks writing

Interests

In Denmark, my interests were health and weight training. But moving here, I haven't been able to do that as much because it's different when you live with another family and you have to eat their food. Swimming is a new interest of mine that I find joy in now, and I now that when I get back to Denmark, I will attempt to incorporate both.

I've done my best also in staying in contact with my best friends. While I'm sure they would say they feel my Skype times with them have been limited, I've really tried to call them as much as possible which I honestly enjoy. I always have a blast - even over Skype - when I'm with them talking about my day or week. Sometimes, we play video games together which we've been doing for a long time.

  • culture
  • writing
  • dining
  • chocolate
  • coffee
  • video games
  • muslim
  • swimming
  • au-pair

Music, Movies, and Books

Harry Potter. Lady Gaga, haha. Daft Punk. :)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

That must be the decision to come to the US. It's not really an 'amazing' thing, but the reason I say it it's because it has changed me in so many ways. I've questioned my identity and the reason for my choices in life (which I believe is natural when you go somewhere else where there's a different approach to everything).

Teach, Learn, Share

I'll teach you about my culture and country. Maybe I can learn about America. Sharing cultural knowledge I think will be valuable for us both in understanding ourselves. :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm a super friendly person, and as mentioned, I'm very culturally aware about Denmark and Turkey. In my childhood, I've also been exposed to a lot of knowledge about the practice of Islam, so I can also explain about Islam. Hmm, I'm up for sitting down under a cup of coffee/chocolate and just talking or watching a movie or what ever :D

Countries I’ve Visited

England, Germany, Norway, Poland, Sweden, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark

Join Couchsurfing to see Caglar’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups