Neil Pieterse's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Neil’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 5 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Clinical Engineering Technician
  • I feel Thoroughly Educated
  • From Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

How do we make this difficult situation fun...?

ABOUT ME

i am a Christian, husband, father, employee, other stuff...in that order.

I work as a service engineer in the healthcare industry (in other words I repair medical equipement) my wife is a music teacher and teaches saxophone and piano. my daughter is three and is currently between jobs :)i also have a boy who is was born recently. we love doing everything together as a family.

PHILOSOPHY

Make it fun, somehow, it has to be fun.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'll host when possible, else i really enjoy having people over for supper and or a coffee. Its great hearing peoples stories and learning from their experiences!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

i have surfed and hosted and find the most valuable part of the entire experience the amount of local knowledge available when surfing, and on the other hand the interesting stories that one can learn from when hosting.

Interests

Spending time with my wife and my kids.

i also enjoy making stuff much more than buying stuff -sometimes out of necessity but mostly out of the thrill of using my creativity and what i have learnt by reading and observation. i love people and enjoy learning from their life stories. Enjoy motorcycles, water sport, hiking, and the outdoors. i don't own a TV.

we have recently started making soap from first principals. taking plant oils and saponifying them. do what you can to move away from chemical exposure...

  • coffee
  • flying
  • motorcycles
  • reading
  • tv
  • music
  • piano
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • sports
  • teaching
  • engineering
  • medicine

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: Naturally Supernatural, The ultimate treasure hunt, A tale of three kings, Hinds feet on high places, Lord of the Rings

Music: Most

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

one of the most amazing things i have experinced was standing on top op Cleft peak in the Drakensberg in South Africa (3300m) looking down at the view and seeing a fixed-wing glider flying past below us. was beautiful.

The above was topped by being allowed by the doctor in the delivery room to "catch" my own kids.

Teach, Learn, Share

i can possibly teach some basic tool skills and show you how to use google sketchup if the time allows.

i enjoy listening to peoples stories and learn from their experiences, that way i may be able to skip one or two stumbling stones...

Countries I’ve Visited

China, Germany, South Africa

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Africa

Join Couchsurfing to see Neil’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups