Callie Youngman's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Callie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • College Coach
  • Northern Michigan University and playing outside
  • From Irmo, SC, USA
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To show up, every day, expecting a miracle

ABOUT ME

Hello, hello! My name is Callie and I would describe myself in three words: energy, engaged, gratitude. I try to live my life with full expression of these three principles. Currently, I am coaching volleyball at Newberry College in Newberry, South Carolina. I spend my summers leading groups of high school students doing conservation work in National Parks in Alaska. I am highly involved in my community and I am open to new people, places and ideas.

PHILOSOPHY

"I think it pisses God off if you walk by the color purple in a field somewhere and don't notice it."
- Alice Walker

Be kind and do good work.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I crave community and that sense of belonging. When I went off to college, I was moving six hours away from my comfortable life of friends and family; I had to organically create my new life. As a college athlete, I participated in both varsity basketball and volleyball. I had my team. I also got very involved on campus, founding a bangin' group called Students For Sustainable Living. Existing in a world of college kids, I needed to see people younger than 18 and older than 24 so I joined our local Unitarian Universalist Congregation. While I am in Europe this summer, I plan to attend UU congregations and blog about these experiences. I love attending community events.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I am new to the world of CouchSurfing in an official sense but this has been my way of traveling since I got to college. I used it a bunch in Europe and want to give it a go here State-side.

Interests

Traveling by train, cooking, teaching, reading, writing, playing team sports, being outside, the ukulele, encouraging bad dancing, educational philosophy/pedagogy, empathy, history

  • writing
  • performing arts
  • coloring
  • music festivals
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • education
  • cooking
  • athlete
  • reading
  • team sports
  • traveling
  • cars
  • blogging
  • music
  • sports
  • basketball
  • volleyball
  • teaching
  • history
  • parks

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Taj Mahal, Ry Cooder, Missy Elliott, The Band, Randy Newman, May Erlewine, Buena Vista Social Club, Ingrid Michaelson, DeVotchKa

Movies: Young Frankenstein, Mean Girls, anything with Meryl Streep or Hillary Swank, Little Miss Sunshine

Books: Maniac Magee, Catch-22, anything by Audre Lorde or Joy Harjo, All I Really Know I Already Learned in Kindergarten, Sacred Hoops, Calvin and Hobbes, Ishmael, My Ishmael

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I teach and every day is filled with moments that leave me awestruck. I love my students: they are hilarious and full of potential. I like to keep things fun in my classroom.

My dad is a musician and we grew up attending traditional music festivals around the Midwest. My favorite performances are always the dancers. While at the Hiawatha Music Festival (in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan), I got to see Ira Bernstein perform an African gumboots dance. The energy and fire of the moment was astounding. He's a real talent.

My first trip to Alaska was surreal. I flew into Fairbanks late at night and it was still light out. We were landing and as I looked out the window, all I could see was an endless sea of trees, without the division of roads or buildings. Early the next morning, I hopped on a train that took me out into that expansive wilderness and transported me to Denali National Park. I stood in the space between the train cars the entire ride, taking pictures and smelling the sweet mountain air.

Teach, Learn, Share

Never let a human interaction be inconsequential.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good food and fun places to get to in the area

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Scotland, Slovakia, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Callie’s full profile. It’s free!