Gareth Alexis Brinkworth

Yangon, Yangon Region, Myanmar

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gareth Alexis’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Teacher
  • Somewhat
  • From London
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me


Am no longer responding to couchrequests on couchsurfing and can be found at

Couchsurfing is now a B-corporation and for-profit which is why I am leaving. I hosted and met over 200 people and was active for many years and was greatly saddened to see it change from a simple and clean forum, which helped facilitate many amazing experiences and personal connections in my life, into an unaccountable and for-profit entity which insists on maintaining ownership of my information and photographs and which bombards me with advertising every time I log in.

More information is here:

So, I left and started an account at as I refuse to accept that worldwide cultural exchange, personal connection and hospitality should, or need to, have a dollar sign stuck on them.

I look forward to seeing you there soon!

: )


Hello all. I've just moved to Yangon with my partner and am reallly excited to be in such a fascinating place at such a fascinating time. I'm really looking forward to learning about the place and exploring the region!


Be the change you want to see in the world. (Gandhi)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Hosting, surfing, asking for and giving advice if needed and telling people to leave couchsurfing and join another hospitality website which isn't led by corporate sell-out mofos.


Have stayed with, met and hosted a host of wonderful people.


Playing music, travelling, teaching, hiking, meeting people, cocktails, cycling, chess, rugby, reading, dancing, cooking, tennis (am rubbish but do enjoy it).

Music, Movies, and Books

These things are just better in conversation.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Being part of the human race is pretty amazing.

Teach, Learn, Share

Am experienced in cocktail making, music, English language teaching, roofing and chess and am always happy to share my hard-won expertise.

Am interested in learning martial-arts, Burmese, tango and other stuff. I also have never fired a machine-gun and would love the chance.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Egypt, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Jordan, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Netherlands, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Slovenia, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tanzania, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Greece, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    18 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Gareth Alexis’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups