Wants to Meet Up

  • 25% response rate
  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Brian’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 31 References 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, German, Italian; learning Chinese, Japanese, Portuguese, Turkish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Art / design
  • Photography
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi

I am traveling at the moment, currently roughing it in Copenhagen, the city where the lumberjack / hipster culture was incubated. This covers beards, craft beer, small batch hamburgers, and now includes man buns, which are normal in Greece but an oddity here where people used to wear helmets.

I grew up in Amsterdam, poor in a rich neighborhood. I left five and a half years ago and lived mostly in east Asia, exploring the typical zones of disappointment between cities and the countryside, for my photography. A few of my favorite places include Sarawak, Kumamoto prefecture, Taiwan with its goofball expat / local creative community, and Darwin.

In terms of social interaction I'm not really a heavy drinker, in fact, I usually stick to yoohoo.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I used to host a lot of people back home (even in squats) and in Taipei, and I keep running into former guests and hosts while journeying, and that makes it really worthwhile.

Interests

I'm discovering Okinawan lifestyle and I like it very much.

I volunteered for some environmental things like the Tsunami in Japan and forest / animal conservation in Tasmania. I'm quite interested in sustainability and adapting lifestyles towards that, but it seems quite normal in Japan, outside of the cities.

In the Netherlands I went through art school and I'm slowly recovering. In Japan I worked as an actor and interior designer. I learned some Tai ji quan.

  • animals
  • arts
  • design
  • interior design
  • acting
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • running
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • survival
  • music
  • camping
  • swimming
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

I listen to mostly jazz, like Greg Osby, John Coltrane, Wilbur Harden, Sam Rivers, and old ska, like Patsy Todd. I also like Bunny Wailer, Austra, and a lot of hip-hop.

I like Gaspar Noe, the director of Irreversible and other intense films. I'm also a big fan of Wong Kar-Wai and the actors he works with.

I read a few books by Bret Easton Ellis, Yukio Mishima, Gabriele D'Annunzio, and magazines that feature Donald Duck.

I support the Orioles and the Pelicans.

My preferred fashion labels are Helmut Lang, Vivienne Westwood, Viviani Harambe and YSL, although I buy everything second hand because I oppose overproduction.

Politically speaking I am non political, but I do support causes in general, and I highly believe in equality for the universe.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Swimming in the rain in Thailand, travelling to Batman in Turkey.

Living in Darwin was also fantastic, especially when I took a walk into the bush and found mangroves with mudskippers, creatures I wanted to see since I was little.

Teach, Learn, Share

Hmmm ... I know how to say duck in at least nine different languages.

Edit:

Ngaap
Yazi
Papia
Papero
Pato
Utka
Itik
Bebek
Eend
Ente
Canard
Kamo/Ahiru
And
Anka
Ori
Ped
Con vịt de canard

lol that's a few more than I thought

What I Can Share with Hosts

Some cooking skills (a lot of chilli peppers), stories of debauchery or stories of devotion, fix a tyre.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, China, Iran, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Japan, Netherlands, Taiwan

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Brian’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups