Carl Dennison's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Carl’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 41, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • English teacher
  • UCI -- Masters in English and Education
  • From Manchester, England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm tall: 6'3". I've lived in US for a little over half of my life, but still speak with a slight English accent. In fact, when I'm in America, people think I'm English, and when I'm in England they think I'm American. I don't care because I think I have the best of both worlds; Americans love the English accent, and many English people are intrigued by an American accent (although they may not always admit it). I'm recently divorced after a long marriage, and after a spell of grieving I feel wonderful, like I want to make the most of every day. I'm learning to get in touch with myself and am loving the inward journey. I have not felt this good in years.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I live just outside of Las Vegas, so I have the perfect location to show people around this amazing city. My house has a couple of extra rooms too. I will be traveling through Spain in the first part of July. I will be camping in northern Spain while heading from Barcelona to Pamplona for part of my trip. For the rest of my trip I would love to meet some Spaniards and practice my broken Spanish. I did study Spanish some years ago, so I have the basics down. I love the Spanish culture, especially the food. I may be heading south towards Jerez for part of my trip too, but may make a detour if you can accommodate me.

Interests

My main interest is soccer. I have played the game all of my life, and still do. I also play racquetball regularly. If you are not familiar, it is a game similar to squash. It's played in a walled area with racquets that are smaller than those in tennis. I love to play chess and board games too, and I read whenever I can.

  • culture
  • dining
  • drinking
  • board games
  • chess
  • traveling
  • camping
  • soccer
  • tennis
  • racquetball
  • squash

Music, Movies, and Books

My taste in music is quite diverse. Lately I have been getting into jazz, but I suppose my favorite has to be house music. I sometimes enjoy dance music, but prefer something a bit more funky.
As for movies, I tend to like psychological thrillers or anything politically subversive like Brazil or Blade Runner.
For books, I could go on and on. I like the work of Irvine Welsh who wrote Trainspotting, but a lot of people find it too raw. I think everyone should be required to read Siddhartha by Herman Hess. I love John Steinbeck, Orwell, David Sedaris, Oscar Wilde, Dickens, and of course Shakespeare.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

There is a replica of the Eiffel Tower in Las Vegas. I worked there for 6 years as a bartender. It overlooked the fountains of Bellagio on the Las Vegas strip. Every year it is the place to be for New Years Eve, as it has the best view in the whole town. I got to welcome in the Millennium there drinking bottles of fine champagne while hundreds of thousands of people partied in the street below.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach chess and some bar tricks
I want to learn more Spanish
I can share my knowledge of Las Vegas

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Bermuda, Canada, France, Germany, Greece, Mexico, Netherlands, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Carl’s full profile. It’s free!