Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Carol’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 14 References 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 44, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • writer, musician, composer, artist, thinker...
  • studied Cultural Anthropology at George Washington Univ. ...
  • From central Pennsylvania
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am presently traveling, as of February 1st, 2016, I left Pennsylvania and am currently investigating where I will relocate. I'm generally pretty fearless and love interacting with people and animals. I love cosmopolitan environments and what they offer as much as I love being outdoors in nature. I found a WWOOF (world wide organization of organic farms) host in Arizona; working on organic farms and learning these skills in exchange for housing and food. I may continue with another WWOOF or workaway project, or journey couchsurfing to investigate farmers with successful practices on sustainable ecology. I am considering going to France to help with refugees displaced from wars and economic migrants due to our collective disconnect with nature, of which climate change and increased violence is one of the repercussions. I'll investigate organizations and communities involved in teaching and practicing sustainable and ecological living, regenerative farming, DIY projects and services.

I write two blogs. The topics often involve subjects concerning the environment, health, spirituality, ecology and animal habitat/rights. I decided to go to Paris as a blogger and environmental activist during the two weeks of the COP21 climate talks (sinking myself into further debt), which is the best investment I ever made. I joined a group

I'd found out about this through a friend involved in putting this collective together. They hosted people from all over the world, offering a series of lectures, discussions, presentations and workshops about what is happening all over the globe due to climate change and specifically the fallout from the worlds’ economy being based on oil; that has caused wars, negatively affected agriculture due to the industrial push that has also rested on oil and chemical producers. There was such a resplendent amount of information that was shared there about beneficial practices and success stories in transforming peoples’ lives and environments for the benefit of all, that all of the participants are still digesting the information and sharing it with the rest of the world. I am only beginning to learn about degenerative vs. regenerative farming; the latter exemplified in traditional farms (pre artificial pesticides), agroforestry, permaculture, biochar. I still have a tremendous amount to learn and process. I want to work specifically with environmental, ecological or social organizations; working in communities to teach and promote sustainable living practices.

I'm an American born and raised in Pennsylvania. I studied Cultural Anthropology in Washington D.C.. Worked as a bicycle messenger and have taught snow skiing in New Mexico. Started skiing at 5 and have continued to do all sorts of different athletic activities all my life; more recently playing on an ultimate frisbee team in Berlin, Germany. I love to cook, have a podcast about medicinal foods and spices.

I lived in San Francisco where I worked in administrative positions and learned computer skills. My love of languages lead me to live for varying periods of time in France, Spain and Germany. I speak each of these languages conversationally. I love to draw, particularly portraits of people and animals.  I'm a musician who plays piano, bass guitar and like to sing. I compose music taking samples of animal calls and incorporating them into the music; whales and dolphins, so far. I'm writing a book (with scientific topics woven into the spiritual tale) which I hope to complete soon. My blogs focus on topics from environmental to ecological and personal health, alternative education, bee-highways, animal bridges, animal poaching and habitat loss.

I just completed going through my stuff stored in my parents home which is up for sale, so that I’m ready to make a transition after living in Berlin, Germany for 5 years, to deciding in the next months where I will move.


Everything is interconnected, and therefore the waves coming from my actions, and yours, are affecting everything/everyone else. Be responsible for yourself and what you put out there, and be aware and alert to what is coming to you; listen, watch, feel, love, learn ... have compassion and appreciation.







Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I think that the whole concept of couchsurfing is a great thing. the idea of sharing ideas and information with people who are interested in traveling and discovering things about other cultures and themselves, is a very positive thing.


I finally couch surfed last summer in Paris which was great! and i've couchsurfed across the US on a drive this past autumn of 2007, when i found a driver of a car (we shared driving and gas) from the right coast to the left coast ;-) and couchsurfed along the way. every couchsurfer i've met, i've liked and felt a resonance with!!


Learning about healthy foods and spices and their preparation. I love to cook and eat. A fairly recent addition is learning about and practicing heart rhythm meditation. Fascination and awe for all flora and fauna - i love the outdoors. I have so much traveling to do, so much to see and learn about. I love learning languages and interacting with people who are from another language base and culture. I love exploring metropolitan areas and enjoying all of the arts and culture that I can be exposed to.

I have always done sports from the time I was a little kid; dance, ice skating, skiing, swimming and enjoy sports on boards and wheels; skateboarding and snow boarding. I enjoy tennis, hiking, running. I’ve been involved in ultimate frisbee teams and pickup leagues in every city I’ve lived in. I love animals.

I often am compelled to write about environmental subjects, animal rights and protection of their habitats; humans should be guardians for protecting animals’ environments and doing everything that they can to consider them. I love to make music, enjoy playing piano and bass guitar. I also love to make music using computer programs; I’ve started a music niche of taking animal calls and weaving them into the music - to give animals a voice. I love dancing and also to draw, particularly doing portraits of people and animals on occasion as well.

Politics and economics as far as investigating all of our collective paths in life. Fascinated with the subject of consciousness. and wish to explore and continue to learn about it. Meeting new people and discovering information is a continuous enjoyment, which is why I have often enjoyed hitchhiking; it invariably introduces one to other people’s perspectives.

  • animals
  • arts
  • culture
  • writing
  • books
  • singing
  • photography
  • diy
  • dancing
  • education
  • environment
  • dining
  • cooking
  • running
  • meditation
  • politics
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • drawing
  • music
  • guitar
  • piano
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • skiing
  • skateboarding
  • sports
  • tennis
  • swimming
  • agriculture
  • anthropology
  • ecology
  • economics
  • teaching
  • languages
  • hitchhiking
  • language exchange
  • wwoof

Music, Movies, and Books

The Dead Poets Society, Pi, various electronic music genres, grunge and alternative rock, Michael Moores' writings, Noam Chompsky, The Divinci Code, The Alchemist, Le Petit Prince

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I’ve done numerous ‘hitchabouts’ You can go to my carolkeiter blog and search for ‘hitchabout’, like so and you’ll see a substantial number of blogs about my hitching experiences in the USA and Europe. I just see that there are some on my digesthis blogsite as well, since I hitched as an environmental activist to several gatherings in D.C.

Teach, Learn, Share







What I Can Share with Hosts

My cooking, love of spontaneously creating things to do, music, language exchange (German, French, Spanish and native English), learning different sports, teaching piano or bass guitar, sharing my knowledge of computers and internet, conversation, doing walks, exploration of your community, going to museums, drawing together, doing a portrait of the host or of who they’d like a portrait of, cleaning, going out and having fun while you show me your town.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, France, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Germany, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Carol’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups