Colin Sachs's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Colin’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese
  • 53, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Analyst
  • BS, Interdisciplinary Studies; MA, Linguistics
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

The answer to the line "Where I grew up" is complicated as my father was career US Air Force and my family moved around a lot from my birth until age 15. So, I lived in about 6 different US states in 4 different regions of the US, and in one other country. After that, I continued to move about and went to live in two other states and one other country. I've also traveled to another country and to pretty much every other US State, except Hawaii (except for a few hour layover on an international flight, which I don't count!)

I taught English at the college level as both an ESL instructor and English instructor to international students enrolled at a US University for eight years, so I'm fairly proficient at understanding a wide variety of accents. I love the diversity of cultures and languages and peoples on this Earth, and I think that it all makes humanity stronger (if we could all just convince the politicians and radicals on both ends of the political spectrum to let us all just get along!) That makes me, in US terms, a "progressive" or a "liberal" on the "left" of the political spectrum in terms of my social views.

I'm a middle-aged vegetarian male with a son who stays with me every-other-week, so I have a spare room (his) and a futon (in the living room) -- so there's a second bedroom that goes unused most of the time. The company would be nice, plus I'd get to show someone around Seattle (always fun!)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To meet people from other cultures and places and live vicariously through their travel experiences/stories... since I really can't afford to travel and am somewhat place bound at this time due to various circumstances.

Interests

Reading (science fiction, historical fiction, science & history non-fiction, data science and data visualization, management and leadership development); Computer and video games (Halo, Fallout, XCom, and others); Movies (science fiction, fantasy, Pixar/DreamWorks); Exploring interesting places within cities -- generally by walking around; Sleeping in on weekends; Table top games (Settlers of Catan, Forbidden Island, Source of the Nile, Nuclear War, Zombie Dice, Car Wars, pretty much anything except Monopoly or other "traditional" games typical sold in US stores from my childhood!) and Role playing games like D&D.

  • vegetarian
  • instructor
  • walking
  • movies
  • video games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • history
  • languages
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Humm... these are conversation topics. Best leave these for small talk!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I don't know I've ever done anything "amazing."

What I Can Share with Hosts

Conversation, time as available, hospitality, information...

Countries I’ve Visited

Hong Kong, Taiwan, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Taiwan, Thailand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Colin’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups