Cate Rushan's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Cate’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 2 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Student
  • Bachelor of Science - Univeristy of Melbourne
  • From Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm 23 years old and currently avoiding the real world of working and paying rent by travelling the world.
I love to hear and learn about other peoples lives - I find it fascinating how two people can be from different backgrounds and have completely different experiences from one another, but still form a connection.

I started this trip back in December 2014, solo backpacking through South America for 2.5 months. I then met a friend in Canada for a few weeks before we set off on a road trip from one side of the USA to the other. My last few weeks in the USA were spent working on a cattle ranch in Nebraska. Now I'm back to flying solo! I'm currently exploring the UK and Europe until mid-October.

While all the places I've visited have been amazing in their own way, I've come to find that it's the people I meet that really make this a memorable experience.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm travelling for about 10 months and will be doing it solo for a majority of the time. I'd love to meet locals along the way who can show me around and hopefully I can repay the hospitality should you ever visit Australia!


Anything outdoors! I love the beach, swimming and the sunshine.I love running, hiking and exploring on foot. I love to sing and dance - despite being terrible at both!

  • singing
  • dancing
  • running
  • flying
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • swimming
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Big big love for reggae and anything surfy/acoustic.
The Bronze Horseman trilogy would be my favourite series of books - it rekindled my love for reading!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'll be travelling for most of 2015 but will happily provide a couch when I return to Melbourne!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, England, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Nepal, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In


Join Couchsurfing to see Cate’s full profile. It’s free!