Catie Napthali's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 68% response rate
  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Catie’s full profile.

Overview

  • 11 references 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Chinese, French, German
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2018
  • Beauty Stylist
  • No education listed
  • From Passau, Bavaria, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I have a very restless heart - in 2018 I broke my leg, and it really was the catalyst for a sabbatical I took including 6 weeks in Europe - which in turn prompted me to move to Germany - so now here we are in little Passau!

My kids are both at school and I am working at the moment in a restaurant and studying German in the evenings - it keeps me occupied!

I've heard it said that when we travel, it's as if we are falling in love - Our minds are open like a flower, our senses are heightened, our appreciation magnifies, and our hearts fill with compassion. I try to keep that spirit alive, regardless of where I am, and what I do - and not allow the lull of disillusionment to take hold... 🌺

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

A friend of mine got me onto couchsurfing after she went across europe with her daughter - I think the whole concept is pretty rad and would love to incorporate it into our lives and upcoming travels

Interests

Here's a list of activities my boys and/or I enjoy doing:

Hiking
Running on the river
Yoga
Chess
Ice skating
Puzzles like rubix
Roller blading
Motorbikes
Soccer
Rugby
Basketball
Fishing
JuJitsu
Limbo
Trampolines
Golf driving range
Bike riding
Cable park ski
Rockclimbing
Horseriding
Bowling or Pool
Comedy shows
Ballets or music shows

Things I would like to try:

Sailing
Capoiera
Stand up paddle
Slacklining
Shooting range
Archery
Skateboarding
Go karting
Pottery

  • literature
  • dancing
  • wine
  • cheese
  • yoga
  • running
  • gardening
  • paintball
  • pottery
  • painting
  • origami
  • skiing
  • history
  • ballet
  • wilderness
  • learning languages
  • buddhism
  • whiskey
  • museums
  • recycling
  • galleries
  • card games
  • haiku
  • trampoline
  • jewelry making
  • motorbikes
  • zero waste
  • taiko
  • candle making
  • cable water skiing
  • pit smokers

Music, Movies, and Books

Le Petit Prince - Antoine De Saint-Exupery

Big Fish

My favourite singer of all time is Amy Winehouse, my favourite music is Trap - I'm always breakin it down while I cook and do my laundry! 😂

Aside from that I just love Jazz and old school Hiphop, Soul, Roots, House and any artist that does things legit!

SZA
J. Cole
Jessie Reyez
Kevin Abstract
Daniel Caesar
James Blake
Mount Kimbie
H.E.R.
Kehlani
BROCKHAMPTON
Chance the Rapper
Anderson .Paak
Jidenna
Gurrumul
M.I.A
The XX
Bone Thugs
Lauryn Hill
Billie Holiday
Sarah Vaughn
Art Tatum
Django Reinhardt
Duke Ellington
Thelonius Monk
Jeff Buckley
Lou Reed
Leonard Cohen etc etc etc!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Having 2 children is hard to compare to, but more recently I did a 10km mud run challenge in the Gold Coast hinterland - after a friend asked me to the day prior, with no training - that was pretty gruelling!

Also Mt Kinabalu is the best summit I've ever done. If youre in Borneo, do it!!

Teach, Learn, Share

I find myself curious about everything and everyone :) I love all physical activities and games, and I love learning any and all languages. Love playing and learning music and instruments. I'm something of a reformed foodie - part of me loves cooking all sorts of things. I'm at a stage in my life where I rather keep things simple and focus on keeping active - although I still really enjoy creating homemade products like chutneys, yoghurt, kimchi, dumplings, silverside, biltong...

What I Can Share with Hosts

As a guest I try to treat my hosts the way I like to be treated, ie. Adapt myself to their lifestyle. And help out as much as I can with housework or cooking etc. I try to always leave my friends houses in a somehow improved state.

Couchsurfing is a beautiful concept that I think, in such a fast paced digital age, is perfect to keep us in touch with our humanity, and a wonderful example to set for children about trust and openness.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Germany, Malaysia, Netherlands, Serbia, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Germany, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Catie’s full profile.