Logo orange

Dorottya Szalay

Prague, Prague, Czech Republic

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 29 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dorottya's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 48 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Hungarian; learning German
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • film/art theorist, writer
  • Film/Cinema/Video Studies
  • From Budapest
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

Writer, dreamer, hitch-hiker, dancer ... eager to learn, to connect, to experiment, to create. Not afraid to fail.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

because I still believe that it is not completely corrupted...

Interests

I'm into video art and Eastern-European experimental films. (See my website: www.artincinema.com)

My mood is always changing...so I cannot really tell you what to expect. Being alone, being with friends, sitting in the warm room, running in the snow...going into the wild with only one bottle of red wine.

I'm a notorious hitchhiker. Once I hit the road I feel free.

Music, Movies & Books

Movies - films from Eizenstein, Kubrick, Fassbinder, Hitchcock, Cronenberg, Marcel Carné, Tarkovskij, Alain Resnais, Bunuel, Cocteau, Godard, Bergman, Tim Burton, Miklós Jancsó, Béla Tarr, György Pálfi...

Books - Carson McCullers, Kerouac, Ferlinghetti, Gregory Corso, Dylan Thomas, Ginsberg, Gogol, George Sand, Diderot - and I just love Jean-Domonique Bauby's Le Scaphandre et le Papillon (I think everyone should read it)

Music - Hiatus Kaiyote, Joy Division, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Lou Reed, Coltrane, Charlie Parker, Bob Dylan, Miles Davis, Led Zeppelin, Deep Purple, Black Sabbath, Sex Pistols, Dave Matthews, Pearl Jam, Dizzy Gillespie...

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I've met an old man who lived his whole life - with no regret.

Teach, Learn, Share

A few months ago I started learning to play the piano, I fell in love with it...I got myself one - so if I practise every day, in ten short years I will be able to play something for you.

I'm in love with Hungarian language so I'd love to teach you some of it. And if there is a fire estinguisher around I might cook something Hungarian.

What I Can Share With Hosts

I just moved to Prague, so if you choose me as a host, we would rather discover the city together than me guiding you. If you have anything in mind, just shoot, - if it's something unusual, I'm probably on board.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Macedonia, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Slovakia, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Dorottya's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile