Cecilia Ramallo's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Cecilia’s full profile.

Overview

  • 17 references 15 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning Chinese (Simplified), Japanese
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Historian, musician, musicologist and teacher
  • Brown University. Universidad de Chile. UMSA
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Going to sleep having learnt something new every day

ABOUT ME

Hello! I am Cecilia Ramallo. I am Peruvian/Bolivian/Chilean, so I prefer to say I am a citizen of the world.

I am a historian, a guitarist, a musicologist and a teacher. Currently, I live in Santiago de Chile.

I really love music, languages, reading, traveling, knowing new places and people. That is why I try to learn something new every day.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have surfed in Latin America, USA and Europe, and hosted several times at my place in Santiago de Chile.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Such a great experience! I have met not only hosts and surfers, but also good friends. CouchSurfing has taught me something we sometimes forget: There are still good people in the world, and they are more than bad ones.

Interests

I try to travel a lot and meet new friends. Someday I will take my guitar, my Kindle and my bag and I'll travel around the world.

For the last 6 years, I've done at least one big trip every year (around one month travelling): Europe 1, USA, South America 1 (Paraguay, Brazil and Argentina), South America 2 (bus from Chile to Colombia and back in Chile), Europe 2 and 3, South America 3 (Argentina, Bolivia and Peru) and South Africa 2018!

  • traveling
  • music
  • classical music
  • guitar
  • teaching
  • history
  • languages
  • museums

Music, Movies, and Books

Music, of course. I play classic guitar since I was a child. I love classical music, but not only that! I also love The Beatles and Latin American Music.

I love to read everything, since historic novels to scientific magazines.

My favorite TV series is How I Met Your Mother, and my favorite movie is Star Wars (especially The Return of the Jedi).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Mmm, I love to travel by bus. For example, I went from La Paz to Santiago, which is about 40 hours by bus :P And I also went from Lima to Quito, 40 hours too!

In 2015, I travel by bus from Arica, Chile, to Cartagena de Indias, Colombia (almost 5000 km). Oh, and then I came back in Chile by bus again, haha. When I first told my idea to my father (who is my travel inspiration), he told me "Only missionaries and conquerors do that!", but in the end he knew I would do it if I wanted XD

In 2016, I spent two months travelling in Europe. Three days before coming back home, I gave a guitar concert in Switzerland and thanks to the money I earned, I took a day trip to visit the Matterhorn mountain.

In September 2016, I went to my best friend's wedding in Lisboa on Friday, I danced all night long until 6am, then I went to the airport to take my 30 hour flight to Santiago and on Monday at 10am I was working with a big smile. I must be the best friend in the world, hahaha!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'd be happy of hosting you in my small but cozy apartment in downtown Santiago. I work as an independant, so I could take some time to show you around, especially in the morning or on Sunday.

I can give you some suggestions about what-to-do and where-to-go in Santiago, Chile and other South American countries.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bolivia, Chile, Peru, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Cecilia’s full profile.