Celi Harper's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Celi’s full profile.

Overview

  • 22 references 21 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 51, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • International Primary School Teacher
  • University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To travel far and wide, meet wonderful people along the way and experience different cultures

ABOUT ME

An Aussie who has lived abroad for the best part of 27 years. I am an international school teacher who loves working and travelling most in developing countries. No marriage + no kids = no worries! I love my job and the fact that each day is different and that kids are so honest! I founded my own school in Thailand and now currently teach full time in Florence as well as running an educational charity I founded in Tanzania and Nepal.

I am a free spirit who enjoys a good laugh... and a good glass of wine! I am also partial to a G n' T!

I am 50 years old but certainly don't feel like it. I value integrity and honesty most in people and have no time for 'opportunists' I believe everyone can make a difference no matter how small.

PHILOSOPHY

Karma is an amazing thing. Screw somebody over and it will come back to bite you on the arse one day.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I hosted a couple of people when I lived in China. From July 2010 until Aug 2011 I was travelling and began CS in South America. I moved to Thailand and hosted some people there. Up until now I have not surfed for about 4 years but recently in Lebanon I surfed again and met other couch surfers for coffee. It always restores my faith in human kind when I meet couch surfers despite it changing somewhat since I first joined.

When I was living in France I had couch surfers stay at my house.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Have hosted in China, France and Phuket, surfed in South America, Japan,Madagascar and Lebanon. Contact me with your dates, if I have no family/friends/workaways staying you are welcome!

Interests

Swimming, photography, squash, yoga, walking, cooking, involving myself in charity work where ever possible.

Music, Movies, and Books

Mainly non fiction - mindfulness, biographies etc. Travel stories and books about different people's lives in the world.

Like a variety of music but I am an Abba fan. Also fav Aussie bands are Midnight Oil and Crowded House.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Travel wise -My two most amazing things I have done/seen is gorilla trekking in Zaire and visiting the Mursi Tribes in the Omo Valley in Ethiopia.

Proudest achievements -Establishing my own school in Thailand and my charity.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach kids everyday! Love their honesty. Adults could learn a lot from kids in this department!
Learn from each other
Share a good meal and experiences

What I Can Share with Hosts

Travel yarns and tips, meals (I like cooking), a laugh.
I am happy to share your dogs!!! I love dogs.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, El Salvador, Ethiopia, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Oman, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Slovakia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vatican City State, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, China, France, Italy, Sudan, Tanzania, Thailand, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Celi’s full profile.

My Groups