Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Charmaine’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 13 References 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Yue (Cantonese); learning Chinese, French
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Education
  • Currently studying Youth Studies
  • From Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a very outgoing girl who loves traveling and finding a new adventure, wherever I go ♥


I'm a Canadian who is currently living in Hong Kong. I'm currently exploring the world by living and working abroad for 6+ months at a time. I have been in HK for 1.5 years now, working and studying in the education sector. I've also spent 2 years living in French regions, 10 months in Quebec and 8 months in Paris prior coming to Hong Kong. I love to travel and to meet new people.


"I search, I strive, I find and when I don't, I keep trying." - Charmaine Yip

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Started hosting spontaneously in search of new friends when I lived in a small city by myself. Surprisingly people came to me, and I loved the visits. Then, I started on my journey in going to other people, and made some amazing friends.


It's crazy to say that I've met travelers in this one place, and we meet again in another country on a different continent. This is the power of meeting people.


I love everything related to culture and people. I like exploring in different museums, and art-related activities, and doing crafts. Traveling has changed my life because I have seen so much in such a short period of time. I'm embracing new experiences everyday.

  • arts
  • culture
  • education
  • crafts
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • teaching
  • language exchange

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The most amazing thing I've done is choosing to be out of my comfort zone and to live in the world of unknown. I love living abroad and gaining international experiences. Through different challenges, I've learned to value life.

Singapore - 6 months exchange (2011),
Quebec, Canada - 9 months (2012-2013),
Paris, France - 9 months (2013-2014),
Hong Kong - since Sept 2014 - current

Teach, Learn, Share

My experiences living abroad and my background as a Canadian-Chinese. I've lived in the most extreme climates from 40+ degrees in Singapore to -40 degrees in Quebec, Canada. I'm not scared of challenges and I think my optimistic attitude and personality makes me very approachable.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Stories of where I have been, the horrific and victorious stories. As well, as language exchange with French, English and Cantonese.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Iceland, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, France, Hong Kong, Singapore

Join Couchsurfing to see Charmaine’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups