Logo orange

Charles Gill

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login 22 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Charles's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 6 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 65, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Retired Civil Servant
  • Am proud to have been described as "...
  • From Born in Derby in Gods own county
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I want to go everywhere, meet everyone and do everything!

ABOUT ME

Sadly I suffer badly from LMS - Lying Mirror Syndrome.
This is a dreadful affliction which distorts the appearance of a tall, exceptionally handsome, physically attractive young man into a fat(tish), fiftyish, balding bloke with a pronounced limp when viewed from the mirror.
Most of the time I am able to hide the disappointment of being older and I do try to act my age but mentally I am just that young guy. I am very inquisitive and as it says above I want to try everything and go everywhere. I particularly like to see the real people. Going to local bars, shops, markets and restaurants. Enjoying street food and chilling/chatting to everyone. I do not like going to places where the people are paid to smile at me ie no thanks to Disneyland, Graceland or that sort of 'land.

PHILOSOPHY

Live with what you have done and try, in future, to always do what you are happy to live with.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have only just joined CS and am excited about it. I am just about to start work and look forward to hosting visitors or maybe meeting and having coffee and then I hope to go travelling in 2010 to Spain and Slovakia and I would hope that I will be able to couch hop from the UK and travel by bike.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

As yet I have none but hope to gain some soon which I will then report on.

Interests

I have a huge number of interests.
My primary one has to be my dog, Ella, a beautiful long-legged blonde Labradoodle who rules my life. Then in no particular order Motorcycling, reading - everything from Kafka to Koontz, Computers both PC and Mac, Backgammon, Fishing - all sorts but especially fly fishing, cooking - I am an ex-professional chef and I am researching a book on sausage!, languages - I would like to develop my French and learn Slovak

Music, Movies & Books

I love music and have a passion for opera - I would love to visit Italy to watch a performance of Tosca but I am sure that I would just be overcome by the emotion. I also love Meatloaf and have followed Leonard Cohen for hundreds of years.
I read with a passion and keep my local library in business. I will read virtually everything and am of the opinion that there is no genre labelled trash. I also like to select a single good line from a book where I can find one and one day will set up a site for people to put their ideas on too.
I enjoy films of all types but I am very selective on my TV viewing - I do not hold a TV licence and so any TV I watch is from the catch-up systems on the web.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I once saw an island rise up into the air. Well actually it was on Lake Naivasha in Kenya - as I was passing on the road overlooking it I commented to my neighbour that I did not thing that the lake had an island when the hundreds of thousands of flamingoes took to the air!! An unforgettable sight.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can crochet, speak a little French and cook OH and also play backgammon so ....

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Hungary, Kenya, Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Charles's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile