Logo orange

Perry Deconinck

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Perry's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 0 References
  • Fluent in English
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Chef
  • Highschool diploma, Half a universit...
  • From Delhi, Ontario, Canda (near London)
  • Profile 35% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I am trying to experience the beautiful cuisine of Europe.

ABOUT ME

I am a 29 year old, chef from Canada. I starting working in kitchen 7 years ago and just fell in love with it. The rush you get when before service start to the rush you get when the restaurant is full of people wanting to try your food and the satisfaction you get when people compliment you how good their meal was. This why i put up with the long hours and stress of the job but its all worth it in the end. I started cooking in Windsor Ontario while I was attending University and realized half way through my psychology degree that i really had a talent and passion for cooking and my psychology wasn't going to help me out at all in the cooking world. My parents were hesitant in my decision to drop out of University, until I catered my sisters wedding. I had only been cooking for one year and fed 300 of my family and friends a six course dinner. From the response of everyone and having my parents try my food basically for the first time they totally backed my decision to become a chef but told me that i would have to go to a culinary school to get certified. After cooking for another 2 years i made the journey out to Vancouver, Britsh Columbia to attend one of the best culinary schools in Canada. Being trained in classsical French cuisine, I graduated at the top of my class. Having one of my teachers set me up with a job at one of Vancouvers longest running and most reveered restaunts, i quickly climbed the ladder of titles and responsibility till there was no higher for me to go. After working there for 2 years it was time for a change. I got an offer to return to Windsor Ontario and learn Japanese Cuisine and sushi with the chance to take over the head chef role. So I made the trip back home and ran a sushi bar for one year. Along the way I picked up Chinese, and a bit of Thai cuisine. After this I got a call from another famous restaurant back in Vancouver with an offer of Sous chef (second in command). I accepted the offer because Vancouver was a booming city and with the Olympics coming I couldn't pass up the opportunity. After 3 years they restaurant decided to close its doors and instead of trying to find a new job right away I've decided to travel for a bit trying to explore the culinary wonders of the world.
I mean its one thing to open up a cookbook and say i'm making italian food but unless I travel to Italy and try the food first had I'll never know how close or accurate and authentic my cooking is.
Along the way I'm also trying to figure out what type of cuisine I'd like to specialize in. I like all different types of food and like to learn the different styles of each culture but one day I hope to open my own restaurant and its always best to specialize in one type of cuisine.
Unfortunately my decision to travel was sort of a spur of the moment type deal so I didn't have alot of time to save up or prepare. This is why i'm trying to couch surf to extend my trip as long as possible so I can absorb as much as possible.

PHILOSOPHY

Treat other people the way you want to be treated. Thats how i was raised, and always respect women.

Interests

Cooking
Movies
Music
Sports

Music, Movies & Books

Books: Kitchen Confidential, any cookbook
Movies: Shawshank redemption, Pulp Fiction, Old School and Wedding Crashers

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Besides my backpacking trip right now, I was in the middle of the entire 2010 Vancouver Olympics.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm always more than happy teaching people what i know in the kitchen and i'm always willing to share stories of times past in my life.
I also love learning any and all new skills, no matter the type.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, Greece, India, Italy

Countries I've Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Perry's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile