Ezequiel Deniz

Guangzhou, Guangdong, China

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ezequiel’s full profile. It’s free!


  • English Teacher
  • I'm a graduate from San Jose State University in San Jose...
  • From San Jose, California
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To understand the "language of the universe" by traveling couch by couch!


On March 1st, I moved to Istanbul to start a TEFL course. I might stay one month, or three...or who knows! I'm open to anything.

Since March 2012 I moved to Guangzhou, China to teach English to elementary school students. I love this city and most importantly I love the people that live in it. I've met amazing friends that have been very welcoming since the first time I've met them. This place has become my home (although I can't change the original location...San Jose, California) and I can't wait to see what the next two years will bring.
I love to travel and I think that is the most important and exiting part of my life. Although I still have many more places to explore, I believe that I have seen enough of the planet to fall in love with it and the people that live all around it. I'm the type of guy who enjoys many different types of people, especially those who have an open mind and are accepting towards everyone and anyone. The best experiences I've had have happened abroad. It's funny...I feel more at home when I'm abroad exploring the world than when I'm "home." I want to learn more languages, go to a place that is very different from what I'm used to, eat food that can satisfy my taste buds, and learn more and more about life. I'm a pretty "chill." I love being active...hiking, running, playing a sport (although I'm not too good at it) or just walking around the city...


I believe that the more you travel the more you become connected with the world...nature, peaple, places, everything!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I participate by showing people around town and finding great local food.


Since I came back from Spain i've traveled a bit. Three of the friends that I met in Spain came to visit me in San Jose and I offered my "couch." They had a great time here. I showed them around the city and even traveled to other cities and state/national parks in California.
I have also visited a few of my friends (mostly in Mexico City) and they have offered their "couches" as well. It is a great experience because you get the first hand experience of a local...instead of just looking at map pamphlets and at turistee spots.


Cultures, traveling, meeting people, hiking, snowboarding, walking, coffee, teaching, beach, music, international food, art, movies.

Music, Movies, and Books

Rock/Pop en Espanol: Zoe, Kinky, Jaguares, Mana, Julieta Venegas, Beto Cuevas, Shakira, LeBaron
Instrumental: Bajofondo, Gotan Project, Thievery Corporation, Moby, sia, bebel gilberto
Alternative: Linkin' Park, Radiohead, Pink Floyd, Coldplay, U2, The Black Keys, Kings of Leon,

Books: The Kite Runner, A Thousand Splendid Suns, The Da Vinci Code, The Alchemist, La Casa de los Espiritus, Lluvia de Oro

Movies: Avatar, Pan's Laberynth, Slumdog Millionaire, Shutter Island, Crash, Lord of the Rings, Pirates of the Caribbean

TV: Breaking Bad, Lost, Dexter, Heroes, Weeds, Friends, Two and a Half Men,

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

1. Hiked Half Dome in Yosemite twice in one summer2. Biked from San Francisco to Mountain View (45 miles) in one day3. Walked to a high dunne at The Sahara. Saw the most amazing sky at night...full of starts and a bright full moon.4. Road Trip with a friend from Houston, Texas to San Jose, California in 35 hours.5. SkyDive6. Eurotrip: 25 days/six countries7. Study Abroad in Spain: September 2005 - June 20108. Backpacking thru Mexico for two months

Teach, Learn, Share

I am a pretty good cook...I do the best Guacamole!
I'm a good salsa and latin dancer...I get down on the dance floor (or so they say) :D
I love to eat all kinds of different foods
I'm bilingual: Spanish and English and intermediate Chinese

Countries I’ve Visited

Cambodia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Philippines, Poland, Spain, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Mexico, Spain, Turkey, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    7 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Ezequiel’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups