Amanda Vance's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Amanda’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • student/freelance writer/childcare
  • Bachelor of Arts from Bard College
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 45% complete

About Me


get out of town


I am friendly, creative, and somewhat nomadic! I have moved a lot - I was born in Vancouver, lived in Calgary and Ottawa as a child, moved to Paris as a teenager and did my undergraduate degree in New York - and I am always looking for something new to discover. I love debating topics with people who've learned things differently from me, and I'm open minded but also pretty sure of my own personal values. Meeting new people is great, and I most enjoy hanging out in smaller groups, so people can get to know each other more easily.


I always try to trust my intuition. Even if others don't get it, I like to feel good aout the choices I make.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


New to couch surfing, so hoping for a good first experience!


My degree is in politcal studies and international relations, but I'm currently taking a year off my studies to explore all those other things life has to offer. I'm an avid writer, and do some freelance work, although I most like writing creatively with no deadlines or pressure. I also love kids and have worked as a nanny on/off - once I got to work in Greece for a French family, which was exciting and challenging.

I love travelling, learning languages (French and Spanish), doing pilates, and hanging out with friends, especially in bars (not a big fan of clubs). I also enjoy cooking and baking. I'm always up to try new, thrill-seeking things, like sky-diving (loved it!) and bungee jumping. Also love reading and being creative (particularly making crafts, like cards). Finally, I love animals, especially cats, but any kind really.

  • animals
  • cats
  • writing
  • ethics
  • cooking
  • baking
  • pilates
  • clubbing
  • crafts
  • reading
  • traveling
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • bungee jumping
  • freelancing
  • international relations
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

I love watching sitcoms (friends, that 70s show, big bang theory) and dramas (Buffy, Dexter, the odd cop show ill admit). I love upbeat movies like Starbuck or Almost Famous, and listen to all kinds of music - I'm more a "song person" than an "album/artist fan". Generally like electronica (booka shade, four tet, others), indie (bon iver lately) pop (I'll admit I love some top 40 hits, even call me maybe!) and some more exotic beats (ali farka toure and gabriel y rodriguez are some of my favorites)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have moved around and traveled extensively in North America and Europe, so I have seen a lot of the western world. Living and traveling in the United States was an especially moving experience for me. Although I grew up "begrudging" the United States in some ways, and still dislike elements of its government's domestic and foreign policies - I LOVE the freedom and energy of NYC, Charleston, and other parts of the country, and in some ways have never been happier than when I lived there. I like being pulled in two directions in my feelings about a place - it keeps me in constant negotiation with myself about my preconceived notions, ethics, morals, paths, and ideals.

Visiting Jamaica was also a trip. The basic rhythm of life there was just so different there from what I've known.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Czech Republic, Germany, Greece, Italy, Jamaica, Mexico, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, France, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Amanda’s full profile. It’s free!