Cheryl Stinson's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Cheryl’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Spanish
  • 38, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Web Developer
  • B.S./M.S. Computer Science
  • From Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

Nomadic by nature, I love to move around and experience new places. I've had three careers so far: professional volleyball player, volleyball coach, and web developer. Currently I work for Precision Nutrition, a health and nutrition company that is doing great things in the world. I love my job - especially because I can do my work from anywhere in the world!

My family all lives in Canada, so I generally spend at least a couple months in Ottawa/Toronto every year. But I'm always on the move - learning about new cultures, trying new activities, and meeting new people.

Of all the places I've lived/visited, Costa Rica is the one I enjoy the most. Pura vida culture, amazing people, beautiful sunsets, and surfing in the crystal blue waters. :) If you ask me life doesn't get much better than that! I plan on spending at least a few months in Costa Rica every year for the foreseeable future.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I was super excited to find couchsurfing, because it's the way I've lived for the past several years. Whenever I'm in a place long enough to rent out a place I often share spare rooms/couches with fellow travelers or friends. Likewise when I'm traveling I prefer to avoid hotels and resorts - and opt instead for hostels, b&b's, or spare bedrooms/couches of friends I meet.

I love meeting new people, learning about new places/cultures, and sharing what I can with other like-minded people.

Interests

I just learned to surf less than a year ago, and right now it's my favorite thing to do. No matter how stressed I am, getting the water and catching a few waves always puts me in the best mood.

I also like almost any activity that gets me outside.

  • dogs
  • photography
  • dancing
  • yoga
  • gardening
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • snowboarding
  • volleyball
  • beaches
  • rollerblading
  • beach volleyball
  • nutrition
  • sunshine
  • sunsets
  • paddleboarding

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Belize, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, England, Finland, Japan, Kazakhstan, Mexico, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Saint Lucia, South Korea, Trinidad and Tobago

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belize, Canada, Costa Rica, France, Germany, Portugal, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Cheryl’s full profile. It’s free!