Cheryl Kwok's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Cheryl’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), English, French; learning German, Italian, Swiss German
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Legal
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

***I realised that Couchsurfing quietly de-verified my profile (telephone no. & identity card) after some inactivity, I'm really sorry about that - please message me instead!***

Hi there! I am Cheryl, born and raised in Singapore. Tried practising law, currently back in school in gorgeous and somewhat hospitable Switzerland.

To discover a new city, I love walking around different neighbourhoods, and when the traffic conditions and weather permit, by running or on a bicycle. I also like to check out cafés, music venues, bars, standup comedy shows, hammams... Local food is always exciting to me, but I think I would draw the line at lutefisk.

Besides running 10ks I also practise yoga. I'm halfway decent at muay thai, and I'm a terrible but very motivated capoeirista.

I will bring no animals but I love pets. I refuse the cat-person dog-person debate as an unnecessary waste of time that could otherwise be spent playing with an actual cat or dog.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I travelled a lot in my undergrad days, it's an incredible way to meet unforgettable people and an invaluable lens by which to Know Thyself, to practise being open to others and to experiences -- so travel's something I'm trying to make space for again in my life.

Interests

Love cooking and good food with company, especially fond of hot sauce, vegetables and rice but also partial to fish and meat. I make a mean stir fry and mojitos ;)

  • street art
  • tattoos
  • capoeira
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • meditation
  • shopping
  • thrifting
  • jazz
  • hip-hop music
  • karaoke
  • opera
  • spoken word
  • combat sports
  • tea
  • whiskey
  • muay thai
  • sunshine
  • graffiti
  • cakes
  • art museums
  • cafès
  • tabla
  • hip hop dance
  • handstands
  • dim sum
  • indian classical music
  • jazz piano
  • classical piano
  • moonshine
  • cloud watching
  • rap battles
  • swiss politics
  • baking brownies

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: classical, rap (trap, ignorant, 90s, cloud, Deutsch etc.), house, jazz, rock ballads suitable for karaoke, afrobeat
Films: The Big Short, The Godfather, Bridesmaids
Books: Poor Economics, biographies

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hard to choose one, so here's my top 3:
- Clinging to the edge of a dusty-muddy cliff in Ladakh, India while a yak galloped by within an inch of my skin
- Jumping willingly into a half-frozen ocean, feeling huge ice blocks brush against my legs underwater
- 3 days hiking tour in the most politically conservative Swiss canton (Appenzell Innerrhoden)

Teach, Learn, Share

I would be happy to teach you to speak some Mandarin or write Simplified Chinese.
I can also teach you sun salutations from yoga :D

What I Can Share with Hosts

If you have the time to show me around your city, I would be very happy to have a guide, if you're too busy or tired during that time to do so just let me know!! I respect that it's a privilege to be let into your home.

Also, I'm allergic to peanuts, but it's normally not fatal.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Bulgaria, China, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Italy, Laos, Malaysia, Netherlands, Philippines, Poland, Serbia, Taiwan, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Singapore, Switzerland

Join Couchsurfing to see Cheryl’s full profile. It’s free!