Christian Zimmermann's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Christian’s full profile.

Overview

  • 17 references 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Norwegian Bokmål
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Researcher
  • Physics/Materials Science
  • From Saarbrücken, Saarland, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I recently moved to Seattle to work at the University of Washington as a researcher in materials science. For the last 5 years, I lived in Oslo (Norway) where I did my Ph.D. I grew up in Germany.

My research is focused on material systems that are relevant for applications in quantum computing. I am also interested in science outside of work, and I developed a particular interest for neuroscience. I am also very interested in philosophy of science, and I am particularly interested in how science works and what the limits of science are!

I got back into reading fiction a couple of years ago. I am particularly into sci-fi novels, and I am always open for suggestions (I am also open to share suggestions myself :))! Currently, I am reading mostly non-sci-fi novels. I also started to listen to podcasts, and really liked the 'Nice White Parents' series!

A couple of years ago, I started taking classes in Swing Dancing (Boogie Woogie and Rockstep Swing), and I hope to get back to that once the state of the pandemic allows for such activities again. I also enjoy the occasional Techno rave :).

I enjoy hiking/camping a lot, and I explored quite a bit of Norway while living there. I hope to continue hiking in Washington!

I used to be active in left-wing politics when I still lived in Germany. Today, I try to stay up-to-date with current events, and I try to volunteer regularly for organizations working with refugees or homeless people.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I really like to connect with people through couchsurfing. I surfed and hosted, and I enjoyed both equally!

Interests

  • books
  • concerts
  • clubbing
  • politics
  • reading
  • tv
  • music
  • surfing
  • physics

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Finland, France, Ireland, Italy, Japan, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Norway, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Christian’s full profile.

My Groups