Logo orange

Chris Helbich

Vienna, Vienna, Austria

Wants to Meet Up

32% response rate · Last login 12 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 50 Positive References1 Negative
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Italian, Spanish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Travel Guide/Director with American ...
  • Hotel- and Tourism school
  • From Vienna, Vienna, Austria
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Working as Tour Guide, traveling to Patagonia end of the summer

ABOUT ME

What i like: Traveling, meeting new folks, getting to know new cultures, seeing places ive never been before, cooking, reading, good conversations, politics, music (a lot of indie/alternative and minimal tech), my roommates most of the time ;) vienna (not always)

I like to learn languages and I hope to meet interesting people over this page ;) And we have been hosting for some years now, it was always a good experience

PHILOSOPHY

I created a free hostel

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am main renter from a huge apartment close to the center and we have a lot of space and often roommates are traveling themself so i started hosting some years ago.

Last year summer we hosted sometimes 10 people a week or more. This year its more relaxed, but we still have people coming by - when there is space.

I normaly look for people that are interesting/our age/traveled interesting places ... and write them if they need a place to stay.

We also organised games with couchsurfers, hikes, i made a lot of free city walks already, used to drive rikscha cs around etc. - also we watch football matches over projector in our place or movies and sometimes invite cs to join.

I also organise a football team, where a lot of old cs that live already in Vienna are playing every week

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

CouchSurfed around South America, hosted people from almost everywhere so far

Interests

Traveling

Sports (Soccer, Table-tennis, Volleyball, Hacky Sack....)

Music (Indie + Alternative Rock + Pop, Britpop, Jazz, Minimal, Techno...)

Meeting new people from around the world

Languages: German, English, French and a bit Spanish

Movies: Motorcycle Diaries, The Ghostwriter, To Rome with love, The Way ....

Reading

Working: As Tour Guide / Director around Europe and I love it ;)

Music, Movies & Books

Ghostwrite, Beasts of the southern wild, Motorcycle Diaries, Big Fish, A single Man, Taking Woodstock, Into the wild, Welcome to Germany, Virgin Suicides, Once- strange movies, french movies, indipendent movies

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Round trip in Syria, the beauty of southern France, Traveled around Europe, Sweden in Winter, Three months South-America (Peru, Ecuador, Colombia, Venezuela), Berlin two months, travel guide for american teenagers in Europe (France, Grease, Italy), working as Travel Guide for three years now in Europe

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach: All kind of sports (Soccer, Hacky-Sack, Beach-volley, table tennis, Hoola Hoop..)

Music knowledge

Languages

Share travel experiences

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Colombia, Croatia, Ecuador, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Venezuela

Countries I've Lived In

Austria, France, Germany, Peru

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile