Christos Gekas

Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Christos’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Greek (modern), Spanish, Swedish; learning German
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Postdoctoral Research Scientist
  • PhD in Stem Cell Biology
  • From Athens, Greece and Malmö, Sweden
  • Profile 50% complete

About Me


Trying to find equilibrium between the material and the spiritual, work and fun


I believe one of the main defining events that shaped my personality was moving from Greece to Sweden at the age of 9. Thus, I became trilingual before the age of 10, and got the opportunity early on to have insight in two quite differing cultures and ways of life. The winning reaction to this event was me becoming interested not in remaining in the past but experiencing what was new - new countries, new people, new cultures, new languages and new ideas. For most of my adult life I have ventured into the limits of what is possible, instead of lingering in a comfort zone opted by the majority. I am as a person open-minded and extroverted, and love to smile and laugh, and making others smile too. I do have a serious side too, mostly it comes out at work (I am a research scientist studying blood stem cell biology). And, I enjoy a good conversation over drinks, being in nature hiking and kittens. Since this starts to sound like a dating profile, I'll stop here :)


Despite having been trained as a scientist in two of the top universities in the western world, I believe in the importance of spiritual as well as physical balance. My modus operandi originates from the ancient Greek "Νους υγιής εν σώματι υγειές", meaning: A healthy mind in a healthy body.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I haven't really participated in CS yet, but I might be interested in hosting in the next coming months before eventually leaving Barcelona in 2013.


None (yet :))


Living in Barcelona for the past 4 years, and working literally next to the beach, my main hobby has become beachvolleyball - a perfect combination of sun, beach, physical exercise and getting to know people :)

Music, Movies, and Books

Too many to mention. Currently I'm reading the 4th book in George R.R. Martin's 5-book series 'A Song of Ice and Fire' (also better known as Game of Thrones). Musicwise I am mainly listening to a perhaps not-so-common blend of heavy metal, dubstep/drum'n'bass and modern jazz.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In the top 3 amazing things done should be:
- Walking the Camino de Santiago, close to 1000km on foot during 42 days in the hot summer of 2006.
- Climbing the glacier of the 6000m+ Chimborazo volcano (Ecuador) in the middle of the night, getting altitude sickness and having to turn around down: the night sky was incredible, a million of stars and nothing man made around me..
- Camping out in the Joshua National Park (a desert) in California and witnessing the Perseides meteorite shower during the night. Falling stars where you could see the actual red and orange of the fire as the space rock turned into thick grey smoke.. Unforgettable.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you my not-so-secret recipe of berry mojitos! :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Denmark, Ecuador, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Norway, Switzerland, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Greece, Spain, Sweden, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Christos’s full profile. It’s free!