Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 29 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Laura’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 49 References 34 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French, German, Hebrew (modern), Yue (Cantonese)
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • fixing other people's mistakes
  • elementary school, high school, university, more universi...
  • From Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

keep learning

ABOUT ME

I'm a pretty normal person at times, average height, build, looks, IQ, hair loss rate. Actually, that last one might be a lie. I grew up on a dairy farm and loved it, but I really enjoy big cities. I've lived in Toronto, Mexico City, San Francisco, Vancouver, and a bunch of teeny tiny places as well.
Just moved back to San Francisco in April 2015.
I would say I'm a good mix of nice but outgoing, and some people think I'm funny. I love fruit and vegetables, and also a good hearty barbecue. Also, I'm a water fiend.
I studied languages in school and I hope to continue for the rest of my life. I'm a pretty good typer. I like Wikipedia, Wordreference.com and reading the news. Animals never fail to make me happy.
Other loves: maps, the Legend of Zelda games, the peach and strawberry seasons, roller coasters and going biking. Several of my material possessions have names.

PHILOSOPHY

Well, as Ben Harper says... ...Be nice to a stranger/'cause you never know/they could be an angel/knocking at your door. Cheesy but true!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

When I have a place for people to crash and the attention to dedicate to them, I host people. I try to couchsurf when it works out, and I meet people.

I am continually amazed by the power of this community to bring people together. The people I meet are invariably extremely friendly and interesting, and I always get the feeling that I'm meeting old friends for the first time, as someone else in a CS testimonial has said.

Interests

Ultimate, rock climbing, biking, hammocking and swingsetting, swimming in lakes. As much language as I can get my hands on. Correct spelling and punctuation. Turkish pop music and anything with chocolate or peanut butter. Photography.

  • animals
  • photography
  • cooking
  • chocolate
  • bbq
  • news
  • reading
  • socializing
  • music
  • cycling
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • cartography
  • languages
  • lakes

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Like Crazy, Amores Perros, the Emperor's New Groove, Super Troopers, Moulin Rouge, Amélie, the Motorcycle Diaries, City of God, Waltz with Bashir; mostly anything pretty with a good soundtrack.

Authors I like: Tolstoy, Tolkien, Alice Munro, Albert Camus, Virginia Woolf, John Irving, Mark Twain, Nabokov, Junot Díaz, Capote
Authors I'm not that fond of: Garcí­a Márquez, Coelho, Salman Rushdie
Authors I really don't like: Dan Brown

It seems the comic strip section's been forgotten, so I'll add my own: Dilbert, Sherman's Lagoon, Calvin and Hobbes, Garfield, the Far Side, Peanuts (of course).

Music: I have good taste. If you do too, we should get along.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Climbing Waynapicchu with my brother in jeans and heavy backpacks.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am always up for learning a new language or for teaching you one, if you so please. I'm not that great a cook, so please show me your favourite dish.

Countries I’ve Visited

Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, Switzerland, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Germany, Mexico, Spain, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    7 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Laura’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups