Ckris Wallenstein's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ckris’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 5 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 72, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Teacher, artist, auctioneer
  • Master of Education
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Every day is part of life's continuous adventure. My job is to engage fully.

ABOUT ME

Although prone to go exploring near or far from time to time, I live in Bennington, New Hampshire with my cat, Darlin'.

Don't be deceived by my age. I have the heart of a true youngster. My greatest delight is whenever I get to hang out with my son and his wife, my daughter, and/or anyone in their ever-growing communities of friends when any of them
are traveling through this corner of the world.

PHILOSOPHY

Life is short. Be kind. Everybody has a story, and most are actually true. I can learn something from almost anybody.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Ana, my son Matt's wife, told me about this amazing couchsurfing idea!
A child of the universe exploring the planet, I am looking forward to meeting new people in my travels. It will be a privilege to have a place to spend a day or night when I'm passing through an unfamiliar town.

I'm also looking forward to welcoming other travelers. Although I don't anticipate a stampede through Bennington any time soon, if you are bicycling, driving, or hiking through the area, you are welcome to your choice of the couch, floor, guest room, treehouse, hammock, or tent site,

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Although I have slept on many a floor or couch, and have always had a door open to others, I am looking forward to my first official Couchsurfing experience!

Interests

Making art, building stone walls, woodworking, recycling materials into useful items.
Interesting people.
Bicycling, letterboxing, hiking, progressive political activity, music,
museums, junk shops, sudoku, rope swings, camping, skiing, exploring, new adventures.

  • cats
  • dogs
  • arts
  • chocolate
  • traveling
  • sudoku
  • woodworking
  • music
  • hiking
  • camping
  • skiing

Music, Movies, and Books

Although I go see a movie every few months, real life is usually far more interesting than watching something on a screen. Latest books read were House of Earth by Woody Guthrie and Essays After Eighty by Donald Hall, the legendary poet. I just started on Loewen's Lies My Teacher Told Me. Vonnegut is up next.

I like real music of many genres, especially classical piano, the blues, and old-time rocknroll. Bluegrass, opera, gospel, jug band - what's not to like? if it comes from the heart, it's good, whether Bocelli, Dylan, Emmie Lou, Bonnie Raite, Aretha, Rodriquez, the Stones, Sam Cooke, Kristofferson, Mark Hopkins, Levon Helm, Aaron Neville, the robins outside or a church choir.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

It's not so much that I've done anything very amazing, but I am continually being amazed by what other folks I meet on this journey have survived or achieved.
I have had some odd experiences, though, like sleeping in a junked Cadillac in Biloxi, or learning to drive a tractor trailer one night in Oregon.

Teach, Learn, Share

Usually it's more fun to hear other people express their ideas and tell their stories than to talk about myself. I do have a few stories and opinions to share, however, if anybody really wants to hear any of it.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'll make you a mean chocolate mousse, wash the dishes, walk your dog, tell you about the art of letterboxing, go bicycling with you, and/or give you one of my paintings.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Mexico

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Ckris’s full profile. It’s free!