Claire Grauer's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 7 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Claire’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Swahili
  • 39, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Associate Program Officer, Plan International e.V.
  • Social Anthropology, American Studies, Psychology
  • From Odernheim, Germany
  • Profile 45% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I want to make the world a better place to live but have fun while doing it :-)

ABOUT ME

I am a earnest but fun person - I try to contribute my share towards a working civil society but at the same time I never forget having fun and need my daily dose of decent laughs.
My interests cover a whole lot of things, and I am always eager to learn about new stuff and get to know interesting people. I am highly interested in current affairs and politics. Being a social anthropologist I especially enjoy getting to know different societies and cultures and I have a great passion for Africa, especially the Eastern African countries. After having lived and worked in Tanzania for a longer period of time I am now back in Germany but always making making travel plans. Rwanda is currently on top of the list.

Apart from this I enjoy going to the cinema, read novels and poetry, listening to different kinds of music (Indie, Jazz, Blues), go for long walks along Hamburg's many waterways or through its forests... phew, there's so much that makes life worth living...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I enjoy travelling a lot, even though I currently cannot do this as much as I want to because of my job. CS2 will bring me into contact with interesting people around the world and I am curious showing some around my present town of residence Hamburg, Germany. And if I ever get to travel again, I hope to meet other guys out there, too, of course :-)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Spent one funny evening in Hamburg watching a movie with another CS member. Good experience!

Interests

- Cinema
- Buying and reading good books
- Africa
- Social Anthropology, getting to know about different societies and cultures
- International Development
- Current affairs, politics, domestic and international
- Chocolate
- Travelling
- Going for long walks

  • books
  • poetry
  • chocolate
  • politics
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • jazz
  • blues
  • anthropology

Music, Movies, and Books

Movie genres: drama, tragicomedy, documentaries, intelligent comedies (favourive ones instantly coming to my mind include "Annie Hall", "Persepolis", "The Bridges of Madison Country", "She's Gotta Have It", "The Importance of Being Earnest", "Heimat 2", "When Harry Met Sally", ...

Music: My preferred radio station currently is www.byte.fm, a Hamburg based project from a number of music journalists. Check it out, they really play cool stuff!
Genres I like are Indie, Jazz, Blues, Singer/Songwriter, Soul, Funk; and artists I keep playing a lot at the moment include Tom Waits, Cat Power, Billie Holiday, Joan as Policewoman, Vampire Weekend.

Books: I love books. Owning a bookshop is a secret dream (whereas having worked in one wasn't the greatest experience in my life as many people have weird tastes and at the end of the day I usually was too tired to read).
Well, I currently read Philip Gourevitch's "We wish to inform you that tomorrow we will be killed with our families" - impressive!
Other favourites recently discovered: Feridun Zaimoglu "Leyla", Uwe Johnson "Jahrestage", Colum McCann "Zoli", Toni Morrison "Love".

Countries I’ve Visited

Denmark, Finland, France, Ireland, Italy, Kenya, Malawi, Netherlands, Portugal, Rwanda, Slovakia, Spain, Zambia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Germany, Tanzania, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Claire’s full profile. It’s free!