Christopher Tozzo's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 24 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Christopher’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 83 References 75 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 50, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Attorney
  • J.D. (Law); M.A. Economics
  • From Middletown, NY, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

NOT HOSTING IN FEBRUARY OR MARCH 2017!

I'm an attorney, financial planner and business consultant living in Glendale, Arizona. I also teach economics and finance occasionally at the University of Phoenix.

Before that I was an investment banker living in Manhattan.

I have a B.S. in Business & Economics, an M.A. in Economics, and a J.D., which I earned at age 36.

PHILOSOPHY

"Try to be the person your dog thinks you are."

Libertarian, atheist. (Believe it or not, libertarian atheists can be nice, fun, social people. Try us out...)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've had the pleasure of hosting 96 CouchSurfers (89 male and seven female) from 18 foreign countries and 17 U.S. states. They have ranged in ages from 18 to 47 and have come as 59 solo travelers, 14 pairs, one foursome, and the Swedish Invasion (five). Several were not fluent English speakers.

I am also an Airbnb Superhost.

As for surfing, in 2013 I completed a four-week car trek with my dog around the Southwest U.S. and California. We found dog-friendly CouchSurfing hosts for 23 of 27 nights, and it went very well. I've been hosted by wonderful folks in Seattle, Edmonton, Denver and London.

Find me on TravBuddy: http://www.travbuddy.com/register.php?ref=2194107

Find me on Workaway: https://www.workaway.info/967695273928-en.html

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm more than happy to play tour guide to the extent my schedule permits.

If you're in Phoenix with something specific planned, then I'm usually willing to join you if you invite me. (This includes Diamondbacks or Cardinals games, but not the Suns or Coyotes.)

I have a year-round national parks pass, so if I have the day off, then I can take you to the Grand Canyon. (If so, then I ask that you either pay for gas -- about $40 -- or earn the trip by doing work around the house or something like that.)

If you're just passing through, then we'll find something to do, whether it's out-and-about or just staying in and binge-watching programs on the Roku. I also have both an Xbox 360 with a very modest selection of games (mostly shooters).

I prefer "pub grub" and beer to exotic dining and cocktails. I especially like comedy clubs, and there's a fun free pub trivia contest Sunday nights that I often take surfers to.

For cultural types, I can point you toward Phoenix' rather modest selection of museums. I can't offer much guidance on private art galleries or musical venues.

For outdoor types, there are two charming recreation preserves within 10 miles of my home with easy-to-moderate hiking trails that I can gladly escort you through. If you want to try our area's more challenging trails and peaks, then you will need to make your own arrangements.

Interests

I'm a recreational (i.e., not very good) oboist. I played in a volunteer concert band briefly, and now play in the local community college's "night band."

I enjoy craft beer and brewpubs (I thought about taking up home-brewing but decided against it, as I'm primarily a pilsner-lager man but it's hard to home-brew those.) I'm always eager to sit and have great beer with good friends, or good beer with great friends, or new beer with new friends, or whatever.

I try to stay informed on politics and constitutional law issues (especially those concerning individual rights). Always into science, history, and philosophy. (I've been known to suddenly stop whatever I'm doing and look something up on Wikipedia.)

My indoor preferences are museums and comedy clubs. My outdoor preferences are scenic drives and easy-to-moderate hikes.

Note: If you speak German, then expect me to ask for help with my vocabulary.

Music, Movies, and Books

Currently Reading: "Empires of the Word: A Language History of the World" (https://www.harpercollins.com/9780060935726/empires-of-the-word)

Last Movie I Went To: "Rogue One"

---

Music: Classic rock, Romantic-period classical.

TV: Comedies, sci-fi, historical dramas, legal dramas, historical documentaries.

Favorite movies: Immortal Beloved, Excalibur.

Books: history & economics (e.g., Niall Ferguson), historical fiction (e.g., James Clavell).

Here are some more favorites that might help spark a conversation:

Favorite Painter: Albert Bierstadt
Favorite Zoo Animal: Red Panda
Favorite Chess Opening: Ruy Lopez
Favorite Twilight Zone Episode: The Invaders

I have also recently developed an unhealthy addiction to "FailArmy" videos. ;-)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Machu Picchu was pretty amazing. So was Andermatt in the Swiss Alps.

I recently caught* a foul ball at a major league baseball game. (*Okay, not so much "caught" as "picked it up as it slowly rolled toward me.")

For over 12 years I had the privilege of caring for the best dog in the world.

My Travel Map: http://www.travbuddy.com/maps/6989059

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: Law, economics, politics.

Learn: Music theory, more German words,

Share: Traveling tales, new experiences.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Besides my home? Well, I can share:

--Where to have your picture taken standing next to a giant cactus.

--Best trails for a summit view of the Valley.

--A good place for fajitas.

--A leisurely game of chess.

--How to get cheap seats to Diamondbacks games.

--How to play blackjack.

--An answer to, "What the heck is an oboe?"

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bahamas, Canada, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Mexico, Netherlands, Peru, Puerto Rico, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    6 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Christopher’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups