Barbara D'Gama's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Barbara’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • Social Worker
  • Postgraduate
  • From London
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To keep an open and inquisitive mind about life, and always up for a challenge!

ABOUT ME

I come from a multi-heritage background, Indian and Irish, and have an interest in exploring different cultures, and my Indian roots. I like to keep an open mind about life, and would describe my personality as adventurous, outgoing, with both a humorous and serious side. I am married with an adult daughter, live in London, and work for a Women's Centre. In a nutshell, I'm a bit of an old left leaning hippy! Oh, and I love cooking, and cats.

PHILOSOPHY

Whilst being considerate to other people's needs and the world we live in, "Live and love life."

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

When I am in London, I can offer a couch to sleep on, or my daughters room when she's not around. As a born and bred Londoner, I can show you a side to London that your usual tourist does not get to explore or see.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have provided a place to stay for people I have met through my travels, but not officially through couch surfing.

Interests

Where do I begin? I am passionate about raising women's and ethnic minority issues, and the inequality and disadvantages they suffer within society. On a lighter note, I love to walk, read, listen to music, visit art galleries, rummage through markets for vintage finds, and above all travel. Oh yes, and recently I have started to design and make my own jewellery.

  • cats
  • arts
  • design
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • music
  • surfing
  • social work

Music, Movies, and Books

Films: Thelma & Louise; Gone with the Wind; Oh Brother Where Art Thou; love old black & white and techni colour movies from the 30's and 40's.
Music: Mozart,Bach Wagner, World Music, rock & Indi rock, reggae,and soul.
Books: read a lot of academic stuff related to research on ethnic minority mental health. For light reading. Fiction: Sadie Smith; Salman Rushdie; Sebastian Faulks; Charles Dickens.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

After years of being together my partner realised my dream - we were married in a hot air balloon at sunrise over the Napa Valley in California.

Teach, Learn, Share

My mother tongue is English and I speak German, and have specialist knowledge of mental health research and current issues in mental health policy and social work practice. I am willing to share my skills and knowledge in these areas.

Join Couchsurfing to see Barbara’s full profile. It’s free!