Logo orange

Elisabeth Speller

Monbulk, Victoria, Australia

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Elisabeth's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 8 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, English; learning French, German, Italian
  • 60, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Senior Clinical Trial Coordinator
  • University Degree (Hons) in Sociolog...
  • From Born - Liverpool UK; lived in Australia 1960-63 then since 1970.
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To make the most of life, to learn everything I can - there's never enough time for this - and to make the world better for as many people as possible.

ABOUT ME

I'm the mother of five children whom I've raised as a sole parent since early 1992, and the grandmother of three. My children are all adults and have left home.

I've earned money in a wide range of ways including - shop assistant, dressmaking, knitting, telephonist, market researcher, childbirth educator, lactation consultant, library officer, medical writer, university tutor, writer, editor, life model, community development officer, health promotion worker, women's health worker, referee, volunteer coordinator, personal trainer, gym instructor, sports administration and clinical trial coordinator for medical research. It's been a smorgasbord of careers!

PHILOSOPHY

We are not here to seek happiness, but to do as much good as we can for as many people. This will lead to a more enduring positive experience than fleeting feelings of happiness.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Hosting couchsurfers and telling everyone who will listen about this site!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Several couchsurfers have stayed here, and I couchsurfed in the UK and Iceland when I travelled in 2011.

Interests

I love to read, I write when I get the time, and I love knitting - in fact I collect vintage knitting patterns, with my oldest being from 1933.

I'm also very active - I have run six marathons and hope to complete more, though my favourite distance is the half-marathon (21.1km). However, along with most of my children, I'm a soccer (football) tragic. I became a referee 7 years ago and spend many weekends in the winter running around in the cold and rain blowing a whistle!

Music, Movies & Books

Peter Hamilton science fiction books.
Books and films that make me think.
All sorts of music from classical to Icelandic pop music like Sigur Ros and Anuwar Brahem.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I ran my first marathon (and my second) when I was 49.
And I gave birth to four of my five children at home.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am a mine of useless, and sometimes not so useless, information and love to share what I know. I also think we can learn many things from one another.

Always willing to share wide ranging conversations.

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Egypt, France, Germany, Iceland, India, Italy, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, United Kingdom, Yemen

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Elisabeth's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile