Christine Drouin

Trois-Rivieres, Quebec, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Christine’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Fruit picking, construction work, gardening, or whatever ...
  • I did 4 years at university, but I need to learn from peo...
  • From Trois-rivieres, Quebec, Canada
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me


Going back home with my Rapanui dog and never forget what I learn during my travels.


6 years ago, I left montreal, for an undeterminated periode of time. My six months travel in Austrlia became a 2 years trip around that big country. Not ready to go back home, I became crew on a sailboat in Mexico. 9 months ago we got shipwrecked on Easter Island, and what could be a drama was an open door on the polynesien culture Rapanui. The boat will not leave the island, now looking on the sea from land. I m ready to go back home.
I enjoy to live and work outside. I travelled mostly in country side and got used to silence and slow rythme. I love the simplicity of life of Easter Island and his local people.
I m a polyvalent person, interested in many things,so i find it difficult to focus on one thing.

I like that people show me a piece of their life, it s an opportunity to see life from different angles.


Everything has two sides, so we can t categorise things and people has good or bad.
Everything is possible, if you want it.
Enthousiasme in life should never fade.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I still don t know, I haven t try it yet.


None, but reading the profils of some of you, I want to meet many of you. I realise couch surfing is more than finding a couch, i m excited about the new experiences and opportunities I will encounter...


Im a kind of polyvalent person. I like to try everything, except things about computers, video games... Im a quiet active person. I walk a lot. I need to be surrender by nature, and better if the ocean is closed. I like to see the different environment ( the different colors, paterns, sounds... and understand the ecosystem), and observe the animal behaviors.

I like cooking: I like it more when it is for others...I like to cook basic food like bread, chocolate out of cacao beans...

I like to help people in their project: anything, help doing a homework at school, or help building something, help in the garden... it s also a way of learning, and a way to spend time with people, being part of a same thing.

Music, Movies, and Books

Musics: for the moment, David Bowie, DeVotchka, Goran Bregovic, Dire Strait... next month, it will be something else...
Books: I love reading to learn things or to be touched by other people experience. Last books: Much depend on dinner a book about the origin and the long process of the basic food we eat.
Last movie: black cat white cat. (not sure about the english title,chat noir, chat blanc in french)
I love documentaries. But I have no TV and no computer, so I see very few movies.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Living in a tent, a car or a boat for 6 years (exept few weeks sometimes in winter time)

I have seen a few meters python snake with a big belly (he just had a big meal) at tunnel creek, western australia. For me, this is one of the most amazing thing i have seen! What a beauty, what a chance!

30 days of sailing from Galapagos to Easter Island, 30 days without sight of land. Life on a sailing boat is so entertaining and a lot of work. Good memory: the mahi-mahi swimming around the boat and hunting flying fish.
I swam to Easter Island, we had to abandon ship before ending on the rocks and swam to shore.

Learn artesanal fishing of Easter Island. The fishermen load the lanchas with rocks as they use it for fishing.

The Rapanui people in general. I m glad I spend so much time on Easter Island and share with these people, I learnt a lot with them.

Teach, Learn, Share

Im polyvalent, so I know a bit of many things, but im not specialist in anything. I can teach french (i m very patient), english and spanish.
I can help with a lot of small things you have to do, as I like to be an assistant. It will be a pleasure. I like to help people in their project, and one thing a like very much, is make costums for people. So if anyone is doing theater or any kind of performance, i like to spend hours building mask and marionnette, or any costums.
I like to learn about how the things work, so I always ask many questions. I like to hear about your experiences, how you see the things.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Canada, France, Mexico, New Zealand, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Christine’s full profile. It’s free!