Gabriel Kovács

Budapest, Budapest, Hungary

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gabriel’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Teaching English and Environmental Education
  • MA English / History / permaculture
  • From Budapest
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


design a permaculture forest garden... one day :)


I was born in Budapest and I have always lived here. Although there are some beautiful spots in the city, I'd rather live in the suburbs, in a small town or village. Hopefully, that is to come soon.

I have been working as an English teacher for 6 years now. Sometimes I translate, but jobs are scarce. I've recently begun to teach German as well, but my real dream is to do environmental education, esp. garden pedagogy! To teach kids about an alternative, sustainable way of life, nature and some peace of mind.

That means my favourite hobby is gardening - me and my partner do my grandma's old garden in the suburbs once or twice a week. This year we've already produced tons of vegetables but some syrups and preserves too! :)

In our gardening, we follow 'Permaculture', which in short means that the garden should follow nature. This demands using no chemicals and designing by natural patterns.

I also quite often meditate. This is called the Zhong Yuan Qigong, which is a very old Chinese system, now taught by Grandmaster Xu Mingtang. The exercises contain very little movement but need a lot of fantasy because we visualise things.

I am very happy to be able to do all these things together with my girlfriend. She works for BirdLife Hungary and teaches kindergarten kids about birds. Sometimes we volunteer too for BirdLife, and inform people about the everyday protection of birds.

She is also a writer and a professional storyteller.

We also love hiking - not endurance trips, just looking at what's there in the forest, discovering animals and plants :)


"Denn Zeit ist Leben. Und das Leben wohnt im Herzen."
"For Time is Life. And Life has its home in the heart."

(Momo by Michael Ende)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have already hosted and surfed a lot :)


I have had quite a number of experiences with CS, 95% of which have been amazing! I have already been saved by CS people in dire situations, for which I am really grateful.


- gardening, ecology, permaculture, organic farming
- meditation: Qigong
- hiking
- bird watching
- wild food and herbs (we regularly pick them and cook with them)
- perfecting my German and my knowledge about Austrian and German culture
- storytelling, fairies and interesting folk traditions

Music, Movies, and Books

My favourite book is The God of Small things by Arundhati Roy, which was recommended to me by a CS guest of mine. :)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I was in a semi-professional theatre company for 5 years, travelling and acting all over Hungary!

Teach, Learn, Share

We are happy to teach anyone about our fields of interest - in return, I'd like to improve my German and my girlfriend her English.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Croatia, Netherlands, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Hungary, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Gabriel’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups