Annie Stroud

Lewisburg, WV, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Annie’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Environmental Consultant working on Agriculture and Econo...
  • I was homeschooled by my folks and have a B.A.
  • From 6 miles out of Williamsburg, WV in the US
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


live well, find time to travel, meet people, spend time outside, play music, eventually settle down someplace long enough to grow things:)


I am 25, living in WV with my partner Jake and our dog Red. I work at a local environmental consulting firm focusing on agriculture and land related projects. Jake writes for some local publications and tutors at-risk kids. We also both occasionally play shows either by ourselves (fiddle/guitar) or with friends (add washtub base and fiddle/banjo!. We have a red Border collie who is terribly shy of new people but sweet as all get out :)

I'm fairly outgoing, like to meet new people! Jake and I both play multiple instruments and love playing with folks!

I'm interested in environmental and social justice issues. particularly those related to food and farming. I love talking about/cooking/eating good food and I grew up on a sheep farm and still love to garden:)

I've been lucky to travel all over the US and have been able to do a fair amount of traveling in Europe. I lived in Ireland, Alaska, Pennsylvania, West Virginia (and Ohio ;) ) and have met a bunch of really wonderful people over the past few years:)


heck I live life cause what better thing is there to do? I'm pretty optimistic and so far its worked out:) I definitely think that people should be careful and smart about what they do but i don't see that as a reason to be negative. I firmly believe that nothing is more important than a strong community where ever you find yourself:)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


surfing...smiling! hopefully hosting at some point!


i've couchsurfed, hosted when I lived in places that facilitated it! also i used to live in the same place as some other CSers so i've gotten to hang out w/a bunch of their surfers which has been grand:)


trees, people, dogs, horses, stars, drawing, dancing, hiking, mountains, windy days, cider ;)BULMERS!, contra dancing!, books, walking places, bicycles,talking in accents, european football, travel, good coffee, pretty swords, dirt, singing, the ocean, twirling, bare feet, laughing, weather,fiddle, rocks, living, thunderstorms, good packing snow, frozen ponds, cookies, hot chocolate, hot cider, border collies, backpacking, cooking, fiddles, running though woods, chocolate, stand up bass, charging up hills on horseback, playing music till you fingers want to fall off, dancing till the wee hours, good beer, banjos, climbing trees, campfires,conversation, comfy armchairs, not having enough sleep and watching stupid movies, rolling down hills, Irish music, sheep, good books, warm fires, sunshine, travel, rain. ;)

Music, Movies, and Books

Lord of the Rings annd I like classics! Also...non-fiction about science! John McPhee and Bernd Heinrich are current reads :)

We listen to irish,old-time, folk, oldies, rock, punk. All sorts! Current Favorites include Hank Williams Sr., The Punch Brothers, Django Reinhart, Bruce Molsky, Foghorn Stringband, Basia Bulat, and Sweater Muskie! (hah!)

Jake and I both play music so there is a fair amount of mandolin(Jake), guitar(Jake), fiddle(Jake), violin(Annie), and very poor accordion(Annie) being played fairly regularly!

There is a fair amount of good musicians in the area so if you play let us know! maybe we can have a session or something :)

Also Hurrah for all the independent music thats out there! cheers to all you folks that host shows, play them, and come and listen!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Skiffing across katchemak bay Alaska with instruments, beers, and a dog :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach violin (and fiddle ;)) i'm good with kids...I've done a fair bit of gardening/sheep farming in my day so could help out with those things! I've had experience with horses to share and I love drawing and would me more than happy to play music with people:) and! i know how to bind books...

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Macedonia, Poland, Serbia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ireland, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    9 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Annie’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups