Dan Grantham's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dan’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Student
  • B.Sc in Physics from the University of Manchester with sp...
  • From Shrewsbury, Shropshire, UK
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Travelling round South East Asia on a budget, finishing in Hong Kong for 5 nights though running very low on money.

ABOUT ME

I'm a very laid back, easy going guy, always up for meeting new people and hearing their stories as well as sharing mine. I enjoy being active, am a great lover of nature and the great outdoors and enjoy watching live music. Should also mention that I set up this account a couple of years ago and now have a very full Viking beard.

PHILOSOPHY

Try live without stress and to just be happy in whatever I do

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

None as of yet, but as a solo traveller in a city as large as Hong Kong would love a place to stay and to be shown the true way of life there.

Interests

Music, new and old, I enjoy nothing more than hearing something new and different. Sunny days. I love exploring places, particularly in nature. Living spontaneously. Reading books

  • books
  • running
  • reading
  • traveling
  • eating out
  • magic
  • music
  • live music
  • outdoor activities
  • camping
  • physics
  • solo travel
  • beaches
  • parks

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies - Tarantino films, Catch me if you can, Anchorman, Shawshank Redemption, Snatch, One flew over the cuckoo's nest and many more
Music - Wide, wide range - Pink Floyd, J.J. Cale, The Strokes, Radiohead, Gorillaz, Outkast, Jurassic 5, Bonobo, Otis Redding to name but a few
Books - Hunter S Thompson, Stephen King, Kurt Vonnegut, Shantaram is my current favourite book

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Helped a guy run a budget tour for backpackers in Australia on "The Magic Bus" where we visited the best national parks and beaches. We would camp the whole way and after a 3 week tour 20 solo travellers from many different countries become a close family. There's no phone reception for the majority of the trip so people just become people and realise the true joy that that brings.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can offer a degree in physics but since studying that have developed a keen interest in philosophy to help me try and figure out what happened before the big bang as well as the meaning of life. (Very difficult task I realise but it's fun to try.)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good conversation, an incredibly open mind, a good English wit and a constant infectious smile.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, France, Germany, Greece, Indonesia, Ireland, Malaysia, Maldives, Netherlands, Spain, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Turkey, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Dan’s full profile. It’s free!