Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 3 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 61 References 39 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Hindi, Panjabi, Punjabi, Persian (Farsi), Spanish, Urdu; learning Arabic, Portuguese
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • I study things I like.
  • working on a PhD.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

Well, I just finished my PhD and took up a job teaching at a university. Lucky for me, the scolastic lifestyle is anything but dreary - I spend the majority of time traveling or living abroad! Since most of my work has to do with South Asia, I get to take lots of "educational" trips to India and Pakistan, so I try to use that my base for traveling around the world (and of course cavorting around the subcontinent). I also love studying languages...its a mixture of passion and pragmatism.

But wherever I am, I love to have a good time. There is definitely a nerdy side that loves to learn and see historical things, but that side often gets overruled by the partisans of party(ing) in my brain. I love to go out, meet new people, and have a great time. My all time favorite activity when traveling is to meet random people and sit down to tea for long conversations. In that sense, I was couch surfing long before I found this website.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I found out about CS on the road from Thailand to Siem Riep, when I shared a cab with some awesome travelers who filled me in. Then, just to prove how great the community is, one of them gave me the key to her apartment in Bankok. CS is amazing!

Interests

I'm a pretty avid reader, so I usually have a book on hand, whether I'm traveling or not. I also, obviously, enjoy travel, looking at map, getting lost, learning languages, and talking about everything and nothing. Oh, and puns.

  • books
  • traveling
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Here's a few off the top of my head: Season of Migration to the North. Things Fall Apart. Snow. The Picture of Dorian Grey. One Hundred Years of Solitude. The Master and Margarita. This Earth of Mankind. The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle. Sea of Poppies. The Castle. 1984. White Teeth. The Stranger. And so on.

Countries I’ve Visited

Afghanistan, Albania, Argentina, Aruba, Austria, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, India, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Martinique, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Russian Federation, Saint Lucia, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Somalia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste (East Timor), Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Virgin Islands, British, Virgin Islands, U.S., Western Sahara

Countries I’ve Lived In

Egypt, Germany, India, Nigeria, Pakistan, Switzerland, Tajikistan, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    10 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile. It’s free!