Romain Le Bloa

Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 8 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Romain’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in Breton, English, French, German, Russian; learning Czech, Dutch, Hungarian, Polish, Welsh
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Breaking the Routine
  • Master in Chemistry and Sales Engineering
  • From Forges-les-Eaux, Upper Normandy, France
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


New life in Britain


I'm an European, from Breton origin, born in Picardy, raised in Normandy, educated in Limousin, graduated in Alsace, i then worked and lived in Romania, Canada, Netherlands, Paris and in the UK. (And that is the simple version)

I love to visit my dear Europe loving our diversity of cultures, architectures, food, languages etc. I'm from the West coast but I also love Central Europe and try to explore more and more of Eastern Europe now.

I love hiking, walking hours, till being no more able to walk !
I don't drink alcohol, please respect it. I don't smoke and cannot even bear the smoke. I can survive with water without eating during several days. So don't worry about food for me if you host me :)
Moreover I am the contrary of vegetarian, I need my meat!


Life without traveling is like being in jail, I know some people who never left their cities, omg, what a hell ! I am a kind of nomad, I live between 2 and 5 years somewhere and then move, not even speaking about holidays ! I like sport but not competition, so okay for a tennis, for a walk, for swimming but I don't care about who will win. I'm peaceful and careful.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I couchsurfed a lot, hosted a bit less, participated in a lot lot of events and organised a good half hundred too :) I think i explored most of possibilities of couchsurfing. Now i am mainly back to "Host" function :)


Long time ago (7 years ago now ? Shit ...) A friend told me about this website during kayaking and when I had to go on holidays without my parents (without parents = without money, as a student) it became an evidence. Then i got used to it, and recently i was refusing a free empty appartment just because i preffer to meet couchsurfers :D
I'm an accomplished CSer, an old school one who will tell you how couchsurfing was much better before but contrary to some others, I still have hope.

I read your messages and answers them on time. So give a try !

When I surf :
1) I'm okay with sleeping on the floor, I'm mainly looking for a "safe" place to have my night more than a comfortable bed.
2) I dislike when my host has to spend money for me, so don't be astonished if you propose me some food/ticket/others and i refuse, it's kind but i feel strange.


Languages, history, hiking, (geo)politics, Europe, cultures. If you start them, you won't stop me, don't say you didn't know!

Music, Movies, and Books

Celtic Music, or any other European music in all languages (Russian mainly), English is not for me number one in my play-list :)
Books : I love those teaching me new things, and don't read much novels. I like to do two things at the same time so i usually only read in the language i want to practice.
Movies : I like Scifi or Historical movies mainly. Not really American comedies.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Going to germany or Switzerland (from France) or to Hungary (from Slovakia) on foot.
Hiking 40km without eating anything for 2 days.
Having been in UK, Ireland, Germany, Switzerland and France in just 24h.
Travelling in 20 countries in a year.
Lived a hurricane in Indian ocean hmmm and a 8 months Winter in Canada.
I have seen the UK under a blue sky !
Became a responsible of Russian community of Montreal after just 6 months there.
Survived the 2012 Montreal Earthquake
Lost my passport in Heathrow ...
Ate crocodile, shark, antilop and "canis lupus" (please don't hate me for that).
I animated a show at the radio

Maybe other amazing things but my memory is not so great. I will think about having a less active life...

Teach, Learn, Share

I like languages, I speak European, it is quite complicated as it has many dialects, teach me yours and I could teach you mine.
I like cooking so we can also cook together if you surf my couch.
And I always hungry of knowledge.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can offer to my host a place to stay, a tour of the city or further around if I'm not busy etc...

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Réunion, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, France, Netherlands, Romania, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Romain’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups