Darren Schank's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Darren’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish; learning Dutch
  • 47, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • flight attendant (part time business on Ebid, and transla...
  • community college
  • From Originally from Jamestown, NY. Been in the NYC since Aug 1992
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Seeing (more of) the world, and making new friends

ABOUT ME

I've been travelling since I was 2 years old. My mother was originally from near Frankfurt, Germany (Gelnhausen) and I wanted to be a flight attendant since I was 7 yrs old. I have been a flight attendant since Aug. 1992, and now with my 3rd airline, and having fun again. I'm a social drinker, and don't smoke or do drugs.I'm single. Oh, and I'm gay (but also respectful of who's around me). In my spare time I like to rest, shop, explore NYC and other places,and spend time with my friends. In my down time, I like to be online and watch tv, but I'm not always a homebody. I also have a part-time business on Ebay. I love languages. I love meeting new people from around the world and experiencing their world. Anything you'd like to know, please ask me.

PHILOSOPHY

I try to be respectful and hope for the same from people. My favorite quote from one of my favorite movies - A heart is not judged by how much you love, but by how much you are loved by others. I believe in Kharma. (I'll have to think of more of what I want to say here. Stay tuned - more to come)...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

**Please note**, when I do start hosting, I am a flight attendant and don't always know my schedule in advance, but if I know I am unable to host, I will let you know.
I live in the Ironbound section of Newark, which is the Brazilian/Portuguese (and Hispanic) section of Newark. I live 7 blocks from Newark Penn Station. It's centrally located to get to Newark Airport, and well as get to Manhattan quickly with the NJ Transit or the Path Train.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My neighbor was talking about this one day, so I've not hosted or surfed as of yet, but it finally made sense, since I work for an airline and have travel benefits, why not give it a try.

Interests

internet, shopping, rest, spend time with friends, languages, music, tv and dvd's, exploring new places, etc.

  • shopping
  • movies
  • tv
  • traveling
  • music
  • business
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Lots of music and movies here that I love. I love 80's, foreign pop, soft pop, alternative, rock, Brazilian, synthpop, schlager, anything really... Movies is also a wide range, from classics to chick flicks to 80's to indie to foreign films, etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sometimes it's the little things that make the most impact on me. I visited a friend in Munich and we took the train from Munich to Salzburg and it snowed a few times on the way. It was just a train ride, but for me, it was magical..... Just one example....

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bermuda, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Denmark, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Guatemala, Haiti, Ireland, Jamaica, Mexico, Netherlands, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Saint Lucia, Switzerland, Trinidad and Tobago, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Venezuela, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Germany, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Darren’s full profile. It’s free!