Aaron Knowlson

Edinburgh, Edinburgh, Scotland

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Aaron’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Student
  • Engineering student at the University of Pennsylvania
  • From Woodbridge, NJ, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To travel the world and experience all types of cultures.


Born and raised in central New Jersey.

I never really went on vacation with my parents when I was younger, so I'm trying to travel as much as I can.

I want to visit Northern Europe (Ireland, England, Norway, Sweden etc.) and spend more time in Germany. This summer, I may either be working at Philmont Boy Scout Ranch in New Mexico, or taking some classes at Freie Universität Berlin, but either way, I'll be somewhere interesting!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Potlucks and film meetings - hoping to eventually expand to hikes and couch crashes!


So far, the only CouchSurfing experience I've had was a potluck in Northern Liberties in Philadelphia following a film meetup for Black Swan.
But a non-CouchSurfing experience - over the summer of 2010, I found myself traveling through Europe on my own, staying with relatives in Bavaria and then finding my way to Lyon, France. It was certainly an interesting experience! I learned to appreciate McDonald's in a land where you don't speak the language :)


I really love traveling and nature. I used to be a Boy Scout and now that I'm in college, I really miss the hiking, kayaking, camping etc. and would love to get back into it. Always would be willing to go on hike!
I love biking and I go on bike riding trips down the Schuykill all the time.
I also enjoy music and going to see concerts.

Music, Movies, and Books

Favorite movies: The Fountain, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Requiem for a Dream, Raising Arizona, Lord of the Rings and for some reason, a ton of Bollywood movies i.e. Singham, Bbuddah Hoga Terra Baap, and Fight Club: Members Only.
Basically, my movie tastes are described by three phrases: Darren Aronofsky, Nic Cage or Bollywood!

My music tastes are all over the place: I really enjoy alternative music, electronic music, and hip-hop/rap, with an indie leaning. My favorite artists include Bloc Party, Foals, Lil B, Friendly Fires, Waka Flocka Flame, Imogen Heap, Vnv Nation, Royksopp etc.
More info here: http://www.last.fm/user/Daterwey

In terms of books, I like reading classic literature, i.e. Candide, Metamorphosis, Thins Fall Apart etc. I know that sounds pretentious, but modern literature doesn't interest me in the slightest. If anything, I may read some fantasy books since I used to read those when I was younger.
Anyway, I'm currently reading the Master and Margarita and plan on reading the Kalevala after.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In the summer of 2009, I went hiking at Philmont Scout Ranch in New Mexico. The highest mountain here is known as Baldy, referring to the lack of vegetation on the rocky summit. It rises 12,441 feet (3,792 m) above sea level. Our group wanted to wake up at 1 AM in order to climb 3,000 ft of steep elevation and see the sunrise from this mountain.
I was adamantly against it, but the group leaders decided to go anyway. The way up was cold and wet and seemed to drag on forever. I was really hating the whole situation at that point.

But once we reached the top, it was all worth it. The sunrise from this mountain was one of the most amazing things I've ever seen. The highest mountain in the region, the view is a total panorama, containing wide desert expanses dotted by tall mountains. While it was cold (5 am at 12,441 ft), the warmth of the sun completely uplifted my mood and made the whole experience well worth it.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm good at tying knots...I guess I could teach someone that. Kind of a weird skill though..

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Aaron’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups