Allison Page's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 8 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Allison’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Italian
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Student/Traveler/Archivist
  • Masters Degree in Library and Information Studies
  • From South St. Paul, MN
  • Profile 50% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To enjoy life and the people who I meet along the way

ABOUT ME

I'm very much a Midwestern girl (Minnesota and Wisconsin) at heart though my feet seem to have taken me to some distant places in recent years.
I love to travel and getting pulled into new adventures, seeing the unexpected places that life takes me. While I've been to places like Mexico, Austria, Czech Republic I find simple pleasures in any community that I've lived in the U.S., particularly in the Midwest such as a BBQ with friends near the lake, an amateur ball game, or checking out the local farmers market.
As a student of history and an aspiring archivist/librarian; I'm a life-long learner and someone who appreciates that quality in others. For this reason I love my job and all the wonderful historical treasures that I get to discover and share with others.
Okay, I'll admit that I'm a film geek. I love classical cinema (almost anything pre-1960s U.S., but also early German films) and early television; recently becoming a fan of most anything from 1950-1980, particularly: T.H.E. Cat, Peter Gunn, Get Smart, The Loretta Young Show, Mary Tyler Moore, I Spy, Love American Style and Project U.F.O. I have always enjoyed watching a good film with friends...but sadly it also means that few people want to play "Scene It?" if I'm on the other team.
Surrounding myself with friends and family are what keep me happy and sane. While I’m incredibly close to a small circle of people I enjoy meeting others and making new friends along the way. I truly believe that there are only a few things you need in life: good friends, family, good local beer and of course someone to share those things with.
This whole thing sounds like I copied and pasted it from somewhere but it's me in about 315 "brilliant words.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Right now I'm just testing the waters in the CS world. Since I don't technically have a couch to provide people I'm learning the ropes in terms of what it means to be a good visitor and experience the different hosting styles of the people I stay with.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've never couchsurfed before but I think it will be a great way to meet new people and visit a lot of great places.

Interests

A little bit of everything.

My favorite books, movies, music, and food
Books: This is such a hard decision but I would have to say hands down "And Then There Were None" (aka Ten Little Indians), "The Count of Monte Cristo," the Harry Potter series, "Hamelt," "House of Spirits" rank pretty high on my list. I'm also a big fan of Edgar Allen Poe, Robert Alexander, Neil Gaiman among others.
Most overrated book series (in my opinion)? Twilight.

Movies: Again...way too hard. Anything really with Katherine Hepburn, Cary Grant, and Jimmy Stewart with a good measure of Paul Newman and Steve McQueen. To be perfectly honest I have a thing for 1950s-1960 B TV actor Craig Stevens. As far as movies go: Rear Window, Bringing Up Baby, Unforgiven rank pretty high...let's face it, this list could go on and on...

TV Shows: Hmmmm this is a hard one for me. I'm kind of picky when it comes to TV. Lately I've become a fan of most anything from 1950-1980, particularly: T.H.E. Cat, Peter Gunn, Get Smart, The Loretta Young Show, Mary TYler Moore, and Project U.F.O. Looking more recently I really enjoy: Friends, Simpsons, Family Guy, 30 Rock, Samantha Who?, and basically anything on Food Network and History Channel.

Sports: I'm not "athletic" but I do enjoy walking, hiking, that sort of thing and admit that I love to watch baseball (long-time MN Twins fan), especially amateur ball, and bowling.

Music: One word describes my knowledge of music--pathetic. Yes, I love music and I guess I know a lot of songs I'm totally hopeless when it comes to remembering artists, song titles, and lyrics. So where do my music tastes run? I know it's a cop out but almost anything. Lately I'm more into classic rock, big band, and country (please don't roll your eyes, maybe it's a phase).

Food: I'm willing to try pretty much almost anything at least once!...within reason. Living in the Midwest and coming from a predominatly German/Norwegian family I guess I'm the unusual one in the family. I love Indian (DC roommate made the best chicken curry ever!) and good sushi but I still can't resist my grandma's lefsa and basically any hotdish. Although I wouldn't classify myself a vegetarian I eat very little meat and enjoy tofu. Other than that I'm a sucker for any kind of fruit or veggie and I really enjoy a good slice of rhubarb pie.

The six things I could never do without
1. Good friends
2. cold beer (preferably local)
3. an imagination
4. family
5. a cat
6. a good book

  • cats
  • books
  • acting
  • dining
  • beer
  • bbq
  • vegetarian
  • running
  • walking
  • movies
  • tv
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • sports
  • baseball
  • bowling
  • history

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

So far seeing La Sagrada Familia in Barcelona, Spain and the Pyramid of the Sun and Pyramid of the Moon in Teotihuacán, Mexico have been the most amazing things I've seen to date. Most amazing thing I think I've done is a tie between deciding to spend 3.5 months in Ireland and going to graduate school.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Ireland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Allison’s full profile. It’s free!