Daphne Chui's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daphne’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 19 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, English; learning Malay, Swedish, Yue (Cantonese)
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Tweets, surfs blogs, and stalks people on facebook for a ...
  • Singapore & Sweden
  • From Singapore, this small country in Southeast Asia
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Meeting people from various cultures in different parts of the world

ABOUT ME

I'm a Singaporean who travels a lot less than I hope to. I'm mostly stuck at home and living life vicariously through the travel stories of others. Occasionally, I get out of the country and attempt to see the world, one passport stamp/air ticket/train ticket/bus ticket at a time.

In June/July 2009, I travelled solo for the first time around Japan. While I stayed with a friend mostly, I met up with Couchsurfers during my stay in Tokyo and Kyoto and I got to know many awesome people!

The biggest trip I've completed so far was a 2-month trip around Nepal, Tibet and China. After completing this trip, I've finally realised why other travellers can be on the road for months or years; the want to explore an area and understand the cultures of the people who occupy it is an insatiable one.

To learn more about what I like and who I am, go here: http://wanderfolly.com/ :)

PHILOSOPHY

The world is too big for us to remain myopic to other people's cultures and ways of life.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'd be happy to bring any one around my homeland Singapore. So if you need a guide, please feel free to contact me

Having said this, I'd really appreciate it if you would not cancel on me three times after making three different arrangements with me (it has happened to me once and I was not very pleased. Though to be fair, other people I've brought around/have contacted me have been far more pleasant).

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

2008:
Hamburg: my virgin couchsurfing experience was with Nele and her family
Copenhagen: with the very tall Troels Nielsen

2009:
In my 11 days in Japan, I attended three CS gatherings and also travelled around with a fellow CSer for a day.

2010:
PhnomPenh: stayed with the lovely Caron Margarete and Sanni
Also met up with a few Couchsurfers to explore PhnomPenh

Since joining CS, I've also played guide to some fellow CSers visiting Singapore.

Interests

Music - Music transcends all languages and cultures. It brings people together. Introduce me your favourite bands and songs, and I'll do the favour in return.

Singing - well, music too, but at least I can say I can hold a tune. One of my short term goals is to become a professional wedding singer. Well, I already sing for weddings (25 at least, and counting), I just need to get paid better!

Playing the drums (yes, i know, music-inspired again) - I can play the drums (and the piano, badly), or at least I think I can. It's been a while since I picked up those sticks though.

Trekking (finallly.. something un-music) - I've climbed mountains in Malaysia and Indonesia. The jungle's my playground.

  • singing
  • beauty
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • piano
  • drums
  • languages
  • tourism
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Forest Gump, Ten Things I hate about You, The Prestige, Big Fish, Interview with a Vampire

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Seen: Northern Lights in Kiruna (North of Sweden) - that was probably one of the most gorgeous experiences of my life. Definitely something I want to experience once again.

Done: I climbed an active Volcano in Lombok, Indonesia, and I definitely want to go back there again! Such a beauty!

Teach, Learn, Share

I believe that though Singapore is just a TINY island and city-state, there is still much to share, and I'd love to do that with CSers.

Don't know anything about Singapore? I'll try to help!

I made the mistake of not spending enough time with one of the hosts I stayed with when I first started out. I've learnt that CS is much more than just a free stay; it is about appreciating one's hospitality, learning about different cultures, and just having GREAT FUN.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, China, Denmark, France, Germany, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Nepal, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Singapore, Sweden

Join Couchsurfing to see Daphne’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups