Logo orange

Dean Peters

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dean's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 9 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English; learning Afrikaans
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Student
  • Just finished my PhD in Philosophy.
  • From Cape Town
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Learn everything, see everything, meet everyone.

ABOUT ME

Basic facts: I'm originally from South Africa, I lived in London for about five years, and have just moved back home. I want to travel all over and see and learn as much as I can.

I love people and I always organising to see friends, or make new ones. I tend much more towards intense, serious discussions rather than small talk though.

PHILOSOPHY

People tend to think I'm a complicated person, but I think the opposite is true. I'm basically simple; it's the world that's complicated. I'm just responding to that fact as best I can. I'm always ready to act on my convictions, but my convictions aren't set in stone. We never really know what's best until we've tried things out for a bit. And even then, maybe not. The only thing we can really do is always be open to argument, open to meeting new people, open to experiences and open to persuasion. And not take things too seriously.

I'm quite political, but in a relatively rarefied way (I'm more likely to write an article than go on a march). I'm all about feminism, anti-racism, animal rights (I'm a vegan), LGBTQI rights, free speech, etc. In economic politics, I'm generally "left of centre" in the redistributionist sense, but I'm deeply sceptical of state power. I think in my ideal world, the economy would probably be more market-based than it is now, but there'd be an extremely progressive income tax and everyone would be guaranteed a decent cash income.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I try to host when I can. It's a bit up in the air right now, since I've just moved back to SA, but I hope to be hosting again soon.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've hosted a few couchsurfers, and stayed with a few wonderful people too.

Interests

I'm a recent PhD graduate in philosophy, and I have a background in science (biochemistry). I tend to spend a lot of my time reading or talking about things that interest me - mostly stuff in the sciences, social sciences and arts. I'm also really good at finding a philosophical angle on just about anything!

I also enjoy good quality fiction and films. I spend a lot of my time cycling around London, taking in the sites and enjoying the wind in my hair.

Music, Movies & Books

I don't keep lists of this sort of thing, what I like changes too frequently. I'll give a general flavour, and you can ask me if you're interested in specifics. :)

I generally love non-fiction books of all kinds, anything which teaches me something I didn't know. A non-exhaustive list of topics: philosophy, maths, anthropology, economics, biology, physics, chemistry, gender studies, urban planning, politics, linguistics, sociology, etc, etc. I read fiction less frequently, and generally stick with things that friends recommend or that gets good reviews. Oh, and I love sci-fi and fantasy.

I love movies a lot, and my tastes here are also pretty diverse. I'll watch anything from stupid action flicks to slow arthouse dramas.

I'm slightly controversial in that I'm not actually that into music. So I will relatively seldom actually sit down and *listen* to something, and I don't follow the latest bands, etc. I'll dance enthusiastically to anything with a beat though.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Any number of times looking out over Cape Town from the top of Table Mountain.

I recently travelled through the Cinque Terre region in Italy, which was one of the most beautiful things I've ever seen.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm mad about cities, so I'd really like to meet anyone who can show me around where they live. I'm also very keen to learn more vegan recipes.

I teach philosophy professionally, so can definitely help if you're interested in learning more about that!

Countries I've Visited

Austria, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Mauritius, Namibia, Netherlands, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United States

Countries I've Lived In

South Africa, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Dean's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile