Logo orange

Derek Howlett

Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Derek's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 7 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Electrician, Tire Tube Creator
  • Highschool, Some uni, some college
  • From London, ON, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To live as harmoniously with the world as possible

ABOUT ME

I am a 24 year old single male traveling around British Columbia. Was tired of my life in Ontario and I'm currently traveling around, sleeping on floors, staying with friends and just enjoying life.

I'm looking to do housesits but doing couchsurfs in between will be an amazing way to meet new people and learn about towns and cities. Love traveling around!

I am a strict vegan and eat mostly raw food (a lot of fruit) and I don't party much anymore. I like to exercise and go on adventures.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am new to couchsurfing but would love to do some hosting as I housesit in the future.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I am new to the world of couchsurfing!

I am choosing to live an alternative lifestyle since I've moved from Ontario out to BC.

Really looking forward to meeting new people and to learn about everything BC has to offer :)

Interests

My most recent interests include sustainability and health.

I create cool products using old discarded tire tubes. I took a course in NYC to build my own bamboo bicycle and while living in Courtenay for a week I built my own bamboo trailer. I love to create with my hands!

I do my best to live my life with how nature intended us to do. Spending time in nature, eating lots of fruits and veggies, exercise and the list goes on and on.

I am also very interested in sustainable off the grid housing. I definitely think this will be the wave of the future.

I am interested in what YOU are interested in. I love to learn new things!

Music, Movies & Books

Fight Club (all time fav), any kind of health documentary and documentaries in general.

I have a WIDE range of musical taste. Over the past 4 years I have grown to love electronic dance music. Mainly trance with a bit of house. When I relax though I really like to chill to yoga inspired music, Xavier Rudd, Prosad, Alexi Murdoch.

Eckhart Tolle is one of my favorite authors.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Did the highest commercial bungy jump in Macau. I think it was 233m high or something?? Absolutely EPIC

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to sew if you have a machine! I've been sewing for over 2 years now and have not a single person how to do it!

I am an electrician by trade so if you have any minor electrical repairs I can help out!

I'm an incredibly handy person and have done so many things its really hard to list everything I can teach because I learn things so quickly and tend to forget!

Countries I've Visited

Canada, China, Japan, Mexico, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Derek's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile