Derya Kartal

Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Derya’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, Turkish; learning French, Swedish
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Teacher of English and Translation Studies
  • Master's Degree from Sweden
  • From Zonguldak, Turkey
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me


I am seeking for unprejudiced shiny people to spend my time with


I am from Black sea region of Turkey. People from that region are known as very lively and bubbly. Yes I am some kind of the same but not exactly. Life and my experiences have calmed me down.
I love travelling and getting to know new cultures, having fun and various talks with people.
I love hanging out, drinking, reading, listening to music, dancing, eating and discussing.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I got the idea from a friend and very much appreciate it now for I am really happy to have met all people I got to know through CS.


I first tried it in Oslo where I met my Greek Turkish friend. He was an awesome guy and so kind to welcome me and my two friends. This idea of CS is great; mutual understanding and traveller's spirit are expanding this way.
Only when you experience it you can feel and believe in it, otherwise it sounds unrealistic :)


I love drama and communication. I am interested in how drama can improve the communication.
I like literature, especially postcolonial one.
I like observing people and the factors in behaviours. Additionally, I love trekking in wild areas. I take all opportunities to wake up early in the morning to go to the mountains

Countries I’ve Visited

France, Germany, Greece, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Netherlands, Norway, Serbia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Sweden, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see Derya’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups