Desiree Pina's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 33% response rate
  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Desiree’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 7 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Italian, Spanish; learning French, Portuguese
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • student
  • Law at Universidad de Navarra
  • From Pamplona, Spain
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Have Fun!

I was born and raised in the Dominica Republic. I am half Italian because of my mother so I've travelled a lot to Italy and I can see myself connected to the Italian culture as well as the Dominican. When I turned 18 I decided to move to Spain to study law in Universidad de Navarra. I am a happy person. It's a simple way to describe my attitude towards life. I love life, I love people, I love traveling, I love learning from and about people, places, cultures, and the world itself. I'm very open minded, easygoing and laidback. I accept everything and everyone, regardless of race, background or beliefs. I may not always agree with you, but I will respect you. I want to travel the world, and help people. I'm studying law in Spain, and my dream is to devote myself to helping others, be it through community service, lending a couch to a traveler in need, or offering you a kind smile :). I'll take the time to get to know you and do my best to show you the best time I am capable of! PS: My couch is big and comfortable and I've got nice feedbacks from friends that have crashed on it before. :)

PHILOSOPHY

SMILE!! :D

Interests

I spend most of my time studying because of law school. Regardless of the challenges of my school, I always take the time to go out with my friends during the weekend, play some sports (mainly soccer) and to travel. I daydream on travelling the whole world on a daily basis. I love meeting new people and it is not a challenge for me to travel by myself. Even though school is important in this time of my life, I am happy to admit that I am able to take time and travel around the world when I have vacations or extra time.

  • culture
  • environment
  • breakfast
  • modeling
  • walking
  • traveling
  • sports
  • soccer
  • law

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Due to the fact that I was born and raised in a third world country (Dominican Republic), I've seen people challenge through poverty, inadequate housing and a not so safe environment. But it has been amazing to me see how people that live in those kind of situations can live happily and care for others.

One of the best experiences I have had has been doing community service in India. It helped me see things different. The social scene is obviously an impact, but despite the poverty in India, people will always smile at you while walking on the streets of Fort Kochi. It is a whole new culture but I loved it. The living conditions where simple but comfortable. It was hard to live with 11 other people in the same house. We all had shores to do every day and we had to be responsible for the house cleaning. I remember the early rush in the morning, 12 people in a small kitchen trying to make their breakfast. This simple things made me grow as a person. It made me learn how to work in groups and how to get out of my "comfort zone".

Another experience that moved me was going to WorldMUN in Vancouver. Here, 20000 people from universities all over the world got together in a conference of a Model United Nations. I was amazed how people of different cultures could get along with each other and come to solutions to have a better world.

Countries I’ve Visited

Aruba, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Brazil, Canada, Dominican Republic, France, Hong Kong, India, Italy, Macao, Monaco, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Dominican Republic, Spain

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Desiree’s full profile. It’s free!