Logo orange

Dieter Collijs

Merchtem, Flemish-Brabant, Belgium

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dieter's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 0 References
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Programmer
  • Bachelor in Applied Informatics
  • From Bron in Jette, grew up in Groot-Bijgaarden
  • Profile 40% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Same thing as every night, try and take over the world :)

ABOUT ME

When you first meet me, you'll notice a somewhat shy guy, but once you get to know me, I'm a relaxed person. I'm easy going but can be very sarcastic. Some people like it, others don't.
I am not hilarious, but can make some witty comments from time to time.
I like to act silly, that's just the way how I express myself.

Most of the time I don't really plan stuff and just let things happen .. when they happen. I don't really like to plan things way ahead. Everything changes so fast to plan too much ahead. Although, I've learned that planning isn't necessary a bad thing, especially when you're going on a trip.

PHILOSOPHY

My personal philosophy is to live life as it comes at you. Don't worry too much about failures, but learn from them and carry them with you as a guide to new experiences and good memories.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Right now, I don't have any couch surfing experience at all. I've stayed at a few hostels during my trip in South-Africa though.

Interests

I like to hang out with friends, go to the bar(s), have a laugh and a drink .. or two ..three, who knows, maybe even more. I enjoy drinking beer. I do not really know a lot about beer, but it's just very enjoyable when you're out with friends, or sitting on a terrace in the sun.

Music is something I like and I love to go to concerts and festivals. I've done some festivals in Germany (Wacken Open Air and Metalfest) and in Belgium (Graspop Metal Meeting). The atmosphere on these events is wonderful. A bunch of metalheads all together, enjoying raging guitars and powerful drums. It helps me get away from the daily routine of work and everything around it. Festivals and concerts are a way for me to let out some steam.

I enjoy riding my mountainbike, although I don't do it as much as I'd like to.
And last, I like to sit back an relax on my couch, watching a movie or tv series.

There are still lots of things I'd like to do, but the one I want to do the most is probably kite-surfing. I didn't have the change to do it in South-Africa, but I want to do it asap, somewhere else.

Music, Movies & Books

Too much to list, but let me try.
Let me start with music. I'm a metal fan. I like the sound of guitar riffs and drum solos. I'm into different types of metal, going from folk metal to pirate metal to viking metal to grindcore. Some of my favorite bands are Devildriver, Alestorm, Amon Amarth, As I Lay Dying, Heaven Shall Burn, In Flames ... and many more.

To the movies then!! Something I like to do from time to time. Same here, there are alot of movies I like. 'Law Abiding Citizen', 'Lord Of The Rings', '300' are just some movies I enjoyed alot. The movie I'm looking forward the most is definitely 'The hobbit'. I've read the book, basically the only book I've read in probably 5 years. I just wanted to have read it before the movies came out, and I succeeded :D

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Last year, December 2011, me and my girlfriend went to South-Africa. One of the things we did there was bungee jump and shark cage dicing. Both of these activities were spectacular.

Countries I've Visited

France, Germany, South Africa, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Belgium

Join Couchsurfing to see Dieter's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile