Dilyara Maganya's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dilyara’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Russian, Spanish; learning Estonian, French
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • Visiting Graduate Researcher - UT
  • BA Sociology and American Studies, Sculpture (minor) and ...
  • From Kazan, Tatarstan, Russian Federation
  • Profile 80% complete

About Me

I was born in Kazan, Russia and have lived in the US for 16 years. I'm currently a visiting graduate researcher in Tartu, School of Economics, but I normally live in beautiful Seattle, WA. I love nature, getting to know people and hearing their stories. I am also good about sharing my story, and taking time to make genuine connection with people. I love to try new things, and foods, and I have a great deal of wonderlust. I have lots of different interests, some of them are cultural and others are very simple (sitting and drinking a good cup of coffee). I am very social person, but go for quality rather than quantity.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I want to see as many different types of people and places, as possible! I seek out other opening minded people, and I hope to see more of Estonia and Europe this way rather being isolated to a hotel or tourist area. I want to see and hear how people really live, and share the same in return.

Interests

  • arts
  • culture
  • performing arts
  • technology
  • reading
  • music
  • hiking
  • anthropology
  • history
  • languages
  • sociology
  • art
  • nature

Music, Movies, and Books

A sampling of books and authors: Harry Potter, Mary Oliver, A Nation by Design, The Notes of a Hunter
Some music I have been listening to recently: salsa, reggae, jazz (Los Cafres, Dave Brubeck, all kinds of salsa)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I did sociology research in Boston and NYC with a grant from my college on issues of citizenship, identity and belonging, working with Russian Jewish refugees and undocumented immigrants from Colombia.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm good at cooking, having discussions, making random art projects, sharing new music and listening to music with people, and I have a joy for life! I love to have spontaneous adventures and try to never take the same road twice (there is always something to discover and see). I try to live my life in a way that's compassionate and gentle, with myself and others. Because: “Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle you know nothing about". - Ian Maclaren

Countries I’ve Visited

China, Estonia, France, Hong Kong, Peru, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

Czech Republic, Russian Federation, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Dilyara’s full profile. It’s free!