Logo orange

Aaron's Groups

Aaron Bendix-Balgley

Boulder, CO, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Aaron's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 45 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Somewhere between student and follow...
  • I'm on a break of indeterminate leng...
  • From Asheville, NC, USA and Cincinnati, OH, USA and other odds & ends
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Hug people I know and hug people I don't know

ABOUT ME

Whether it's funny, deep, informative, relaxed, enthralling, or surprising, there's nothing I like more than a good conversation. OK. There are a few things I like more: Shared, comfortable silence; a deep and meaningful hug; a shallow, but needed hug; a stranger with a smile; a stranger who can be brought to a smile; bringing a stranger to a smile; a gently accepting friend, deep intimacy, and utter presence.

I am very fortunate to know a bit about who I am and to be happy with who I am at a young age. I've had some difficult experiences that have taught me quite a lot about what matters, who I am, and how to be happy. Having a sense of peace for myself, I try to cultivate this outwards. To this exchange, and especially if you also know yourself and where you fit, I would love to discover who you are and enter your world. If I Surf with you, I would love to just enter into your life and get a little slice of your world. I am more interested in traveling between people's lives than between destinations.

PHILOSOPHY

I am already, and fairly consistently, happy, so I do what I can to help bring that to other people.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I spend time with Couchsurfers... whether it's hosting, being hosted, at an event, or just one of my many friends who are CSers. And I try to bring myself and be as welcoming and curious as I can be.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

For 2 years I organized events - potlucks, miscellaneous activities, and a weekly mixer - for the CouchSurfing community in (and traveling through) Boulder, Colorado. I endeavored to make these events as welcoming and inclusive as possible. Last year I helped organize a Couch Crash (a large event/festival displaying our town and welcoming in CouchSurfers from all over for a fun weekend). I've hosted a dozen or so awesome surfers in Boulder. And I just got back from my first real adventure using CouchSurfing. I had some wonderful time with hosts and travelers in Europe and other places, and now I'm excited to be able to host surfers again.

Interests

joy, laughter, touch, the human body, the (literal) feeling of the heart, meditation, hugging, little moments of wonder, happiness, sadness, feeling, richness of experience, intimacy, nature, evolution, things that are out of my experience, authentic culture, cooking and eating interesting food, people's innermost being.

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: Pulp Fiction, Harvey, Lawrence of Arabia, Pan's Labyrinth, Spirited Away, Lord of the Rings, The Twilight Samurai, Moon, A Fish Called Wanda, Monty Python, Mel Brooks, and many many more.

Books: The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Catch-22. The Brothers Karamazov, Gulliver's Travels.

Music: I listen mostly to music that doesn't tend to belong in my age range or in my country - classical mainly, but also world folk music (klezmer, gypsy music, Spanish music, Arabic and Middle Eastern folk and pop, etc...)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Things I don't remember very well: Being in Yugoslavia right before it broke apart (1990), Spending my third birthday with Bulgarian schoolchildren, and apparently spending several minutes alone in a room with the Dalai Lama.

Things I remember better: Living in a small skiing village in Switzerland for 6 months, Living in and culturally experiencing London (many tours, many Shakespeare plays at the Globe, etc...) for three months, spending a week each in Paris, the Tuscan hillside, Crete, an English beach town, and Switzerland a number of times. Attending many Balkan folkdance and Klezmer music camps growing up.

More specifically: New Year's Eve in Switzerland, replete with candle walks through the snow and parades of cow farmers dancing with cow bells and carrying a gigantic (100 pounds or so) cow bell.

And more recently, after discovering what I'd call maybe deep joy, I spent literally three days straight (yes, literally) laughing in New York City (through crowds and subways and public places and strange looks coming my way). That was pretty amazing.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you what I've learned about hugging as a way to cultivate empathy, understanding, and even a clarity of mind. I can share who I am and what I've learned from my experiences in this world. And I want to learn who you really are. And, I have a lot of experience with touch and the body and increasingly some training in body therapies. If you are curious or just want to offer yourself as a guinea pig to my training, I would love to help you find some additional health or awareness within your body.

Countries I've Visited

France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Spain

Countries I've Lived In

Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Aaron's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile