Logo orange

Daniel Fretter

Grenoble, Rhone-Alpes, France

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 4 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Apprentice mountain leader, dole blu...
  • Degree in Geography
  • From CA, USA
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION
Overdose on the mountains, plains, forests, coasts, cultures, subcultures, coffee shops, bike shops and microbreweries of the Pacific Northwest. Find the next adventure. I've got a few months of free time, so I'm visiting family and friends in California and Idaho, but I'll be spending some time on the road also, exploring the Pacific Northwest. A move from France back to the States might be on the horizon, so I'm scouting out a potential ''chez moi''
ABOUT ME
I'm American, but I left California in 2004 with the firm and honest intention of spending a year abroad, then coming back to the USA. That year became 18 months, then two years, then I took root in the French Alps, in Grenoble. I somehow obtained a degree there, then worked as an English teacher to support a serious mountain addiction. Now I'm in the process of obtaining the (French) mountain leader certificate, so it's completely out of control and I might wind up becoming a pusher!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

I joined a similar site, hospitalityclub.com, at the behest of a fellow traveler on the ferry from Finland to Estonia, and it was truly life-altering. Every place I went I saw a side of it I'd never otherwise have seen. I joined CS because it seemed to be getting more activity, but at that point I'd moved into a place that wasn't really CS friendly, so couldn't host as much as I'd have liked.

Interests

Pretty much anything involving being in the wildness, particularly mountains. Backcountry skiing, mountaineering, backpacking, cycling and cycle touring, SCUBA diving. I really want to TRY kayaking, and bikepacking with a fatbike.
Photography, of the above activities but also street/travel photography.
I try to eat organic and local, I've done a bit of gardening and a bit of WWOOFing, my ideal would be to live in a yurt or a caravan or open a travellers lodge somewhere beautiful and do the same...
I'd particularly love to meet some backcountry skiers who know the local mountains a little and would like hit a couple for routes.

Music, Movies & Books

à titre purement indicative:
They Might Be Giants, Nick Drake, Clinic, Radiohead, The Flaming Lips, Steintryggur, Arcade Fire, Elliott Smith, Cat Power, Lee Perry, Tiken Jah Fakoly, DJ Shadow, Joseph Arthur, Kronos Quartet, Tom Waits, The Sugarcubes, Björk, Sigur Ros, Mugison ...enfin, tout qui vient d'Islande...Beck, George Brassens, Philip Glass, Chemical Brothers, Clint Mansell, Nirvana, Frida Hyvönen, Wu-Tang Clan, The Pixies, The Beta Band, La Rue Kétanou, George Gershwin, Django Rhinhardt, Cibo Mato, Tunng, The Do, Ludwin van B, Danny Elfmann, Boards of Canada, Grandaddy, Wilco, The Clash, Iggy Pop, Jurassic 5, Camille, Blonde Redhead, Ez3kiel, The Beastie Boys, Yves Montand, Aphex Twin, Broadcast, Janis Joplin, Les Fabulouse Troubadours, Beck, Boby Lepointe, Serge Gainsbourg, Groove Armada, Jim White, John Williams, Massive Attack, Bob Dylan, The Velvet Underground, Lhasa, Badly Drawn Boy, Anything that Mark Mothersbourg has ever chosen for a Wes Anderson film,

Films: Never met a Wes Anderson film I didn't like. Same for the Cohen Brothers, and P.T. Anderson. Anything by Miyazaki. The Straight Story, Waking Life, Jesus' Son, City of Lost Children, Les Années Lumières. Y Tu Mama Tambien, Memento, The Princess Bride. Dogtown and Z-Boys, Dr. Strangelove, Dancer in the Dark, One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest, Go!, Amores Perros, Do The Right Thing, Die Fetten Jahre Sind Vorbei, Goodbye, Lenin!, Run Lola Run

Teach, Learn, Share

Don't follow...

What I Can Share With Hosts

French lessons, a ski or mountaineering buddy, home-cookin', If you're non motorized, I'll probably be able to offer you a ride somewhere if you need, as I'll be driving on this trip.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Bulgaria, Canada, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mauritania, Mexico, Morocco, Norway, Peru, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey

Countries I've Lived In

France, Iceland, Senegal, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile