Dan Garland

London, London

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dan’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Musician, Web Developer
  • University of Bristol, 2:1 Computer Science
  • From Crowborough, East Sussex
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To live the aristic life, to make music and meet exceptional people


I love to make music: writing songs, mastering instruments and creating arrangements. I currently play for a band called Sweet Billy Pilgrim and have been touring around the world and played some decent festivals, which needless to say is a lot of fun and something I'm proud of. I have my own studio at home, which I use to write and record, with the aim of getting some kind of demo together ahead of a full recording. I play piano first and foremost, as well as anything with a keyboard on it. I am getting better as a programmer/producer and have worked with a number of vocalists on my tracks.

I run a web development consultancy called We Got Coders (http://www.wegotcoders.com) that provides training, mentoring and consultancy services in London. I specialise in Ruby on Rails and I work with developers trying to get into that sector, working for startups and trendy digital agencies. I'm interested in 3D graphics and I used to use Maya at University. One day I'll get back into that. I run my own web/email server that lives in a data centre somewhere. Generally I am quite technically-minded. My CV is online at http://www.dangarland.co.uk.

I would say that I am thoughtful, sensitive and opinionated. I enjoy my own company and tend to be by myself most of the time. I enjoy making music, reading and learning, practising French, cooking and maybe a good film at the end of the day when I'm too tired for anything else. When in the company of friends, I like to be involved and I'm generally well-regarded, from what I can tell. I'm more likely to enjoy myself in a smaller group in a good pub or over dinner than a rave in a field somewhere, although I had a great time doing that once.

I am currently in the process of learning French, and I am trying to build on my 'B' GCSE grade, with a weekly lesson with a tutor and some on-line correspondence. Because of this, I am particularly interested in hearing from French-speakers, as I would gladly swap an evening or two's accommodation for some French conversation.

I am currently single, but I keep an OKCupid profile and consider Couch-Surfing a quite seperate activity from seeking potential partners!


1) We are all expressions of the same universal force; God, The Ether, whatever- our fleeting apparitions are like words in a story, actors on a stage; we are all the same and are all connected.

2) A little bit of what you fancy does you good.

3) I'm nearly always in agreement with Schopenhaur, and I find Spinoza and Nietzsche very inspiring.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I like to couch surf when visiting a new area so that I can get an idea for the people who live there. Now that I have a place in London that I can host so I am looking to return the karma!


The first time I couch-surfed was in Brighton some years ago, whilst looking for a room. Even though I lived nearby, I was curious to see how CS worked. I met some very interesting people and saw a side to them I would not normally see. I found the whole thing very positive and since then I have stayed with several hosts and hosted more in return.

I learnt that CS is not 'free' in that it does require energy to put into building a new relationship with your host, even for an evening, and is therefore an experience that needs both parties to contribute in order to be meaningful and worthwhile.

I now host guests at my place in London, and I generally find it a positive experience. I enjoy the feeling of placing trust in people and being vindicated in finding acceptance and respect. We are so indoctrinated to fear, that prospect of inviting strangers to your house is perhaps daunting; but I love to permit myself to overcome these negative thoughts and be open and accommodating. In this way, I find a genuine feeling of contentment and fulfilment, as though through helping each other we are truly being ourselves.


Music, piano, keyboards, synths, writing songs, making arrangements, geeking around with technology, making websites, web technology, green technology and politics, non-fiction: utopias, biographies, histories, philosophy. Good poetry, meeting new people, French speaking

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I think turning a corner one evening in Rome and chancing upon on the Cascata Di Trevi was something I will always remember for its skull-cap-blowing, stupendous beauty...

Teach, Learn, Share

I am an expert in web technologies and am willing to help people with:
1) Their Linux installation/setup
2) Ruby on Rails programming
3) Agile development techniques

I am also a musician so I can help with that I suppose, although I believe that really music is an expression that everyone already possess in some measure. However I'd be glad to give production advice or recording help to any travelling musicians, as well as helping finding gigs or contacts in London.

Finally, I speak English fluently if you are coming over to learn or need help with that.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Egypt, France, Guadeloupe, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, France, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Dan’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups