Henri van Roon's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Henri’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German
  • 72, Other
  • Member since 2011
  • Environmental planner , semi retired, keen gardener and h...
  • University of Auckland - Geography and Planning, Financia...
  • From Born in Alkmaar, the Netherlands, grew up in New Zealand
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To make a difference, to the wellbeing of the planet and to the people I interact with

ABOUT ME

Now semi-retired, was a professional environmental planner all my working life at regional and central government level. Married with 3 children, one still at home and studying at university.My wife is an ecologist and teaches at Auckland university.I am enjoying life and learning still, especially how little I really know.Voracious reader, in particular newspapers,so if you are visiting, a foreign newspaper is always welcome. Sometime yoga practitioner as a way of dealing with a bad back and reducing stress. A part time vegetarian.

PHILOSOPHY

First do no harm as part of living in a globally connected ecosystem.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Just joined. Have been travelling in Europe with my wife on her sabbatical leave. we saw an article in a German railway magazine about couch surfing and looked it up on line. Subsequently joined when I found it was not just for the super young. Willing to share my knowledge of New Zealand and its way of life with visitors. Able to show visitors around Auckland, with some notice, when work permits.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

In hindsight have been couch surfing for many years, just did not have the name for it. Stayed with friends in many countries and in the process was able to observe daily life and get a feel for different cultures and ways of doing things. Being in a local community adds an extra dimension to travel experiences.

Interests

Environmental issues, such as climate change / climate variability / global warming and its implications and how to accommodate these in an ever more crowded world. Economic and political trends, what they mean for me and my country. Growing trees on a sustainable production basis, whilst safeguarding the land from degradation. Sitting under the trees and reading. Camping with friends and sitting around talking till late.
World history and changes occurring at present. Transition towns and perma-culture.

  • culture
  • vegetarian
  • yoga
  • instructor
  • gardening
  • reading
  • traveling
  • camping
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • swimming
  • ecology
  • history

Music, Movies, and Books

Books:Science fiction in general, Manchester Guardian,Lee Child, Kunstler, George Monbiot

music :Mark Knoffler,Cohen,Enya, George Moustaki,Vicky Leandros

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Created a family and brought three kids, who are now well on their way in life.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach:
swimming, body surfing and skin diving - one-time swimming instructor. House and garden maintenance, we have an old house, which we have owned for 37 years and which requires constant work. It is almost 130 years old,which for a wooden house in New Zealand is old.
learn: small engine maintenance,

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, Canada, China, Fiji, Germany, Netherlands, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

New Zealand

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Henri’s full profile. It’s free!