Logo orange

Dominic Meagher

Beijing, Beijing Municipality, China

Not Accepting Guests

Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dominic's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 1 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • I'm running a bilateral youth diplom...
  • PhD
  • From Sydney
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I'm in Beijing for 2 months (until 6 Nov) for the Australia-China Youth Dialogue. I've been out of Beijing for 2 years so I want to get to know it again. I want to meet lots of fun and interesting local people while I'm here

ABOUT ME

You can see my professional bio if you google my name with "ACYD" or "ANU", but professional bio isn't my personality. I love being in China and finding out more about this place. I love getting outdoors, spending the weekend hiking on mountains or cycling round small towns. Food in China is fantastic - I don't smoke but I don't really mind it, but I am partial to a beer (hey, I'm Aussie). I care a lot about sustainability and development issues and that's what I mostly work on. I tend to wake up early and start working from bed before I get up, then I usually go to bed late (basically I find sleep boring) - I'd rather be doing stuff :)

PHILOSOPHY

I'll tell you about it if you let me stay :)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Right now I can only surf since I have no home. I'll be alternating between hostels and couches I suppose, unless someone's willing to have me for a longer stay!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've crashed and hosted lots of friends but I'm new to this site. I really hope to meet some cool Beijingers.

In Hong Kong I had friends staying almost the whole time I was there even though I only had a studio apartment. I found Japanese take up less space than the Dutch ;)
I've couch surfed with friends in China, Australia, England, Scotland and Indonesia.

Interests

I'm in Beijing to get things done, but also here to just meet people and get to know the place again and have a fun time.

I'm interested in art, music, economics, politics, energy, IR, environmental sustainability, social reforms, China, Asia, philosophy, ethics, hiking, cycling, walking, tennis, running, taichi, drinking, eating (Sichuan food is the bomb)...

Definitely want to do some hiking while I'm here.

Music, Movies & Books

I haven't watched many Chinese movies for nearly five years but I used to watch loads. I found liuxinghuayuan pretty interesting but mostly because of the sensation it caused. I love anime.

I prefer movies to TV unless I have time to watch the whole series in a few days. I hate waiting for the next episode. I have a pretty varied taste - I love everything from Iron Man to Barakka.

The last couple of years I've mostly been listening to lounge and ambient music, but that's because it helps me get work done. I like festivals and concerts etc, but it can be hard to afford that as a student. I saw Car Sick Cars in Sydney - only Chinese band I've seen in Aus.

For books, I've been trying to read a book by Murikami all year, but I keep getting distracted by work and other things to read that are more urgent. I swear I'm going to get into this book. The last one I finished was Zhao Ziyang's memoirs.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I ran a 100km orienteering race which was pretty cool (freezing mostly, actually), and another 90k race the next year plus a few rogains including one 24 hour one. Very fun.

I fled Beijing during SARS and spent the whole period in Yunnan. My friends and I were the only people who weren't locals so we stayed for over a month in Dali and over a month in Lijiang.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach about Australia and I suppose I can teach about economics, international development, climate change and environmental sustainability since that's what I work on, but that might be a bit dry for some people.

What do I want to learn? I want to learn everything, so it depends what kind of person you are.

Countries I've Visited

China, Denmark, Indonesia, Japan, Singapore, South Korea, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, China

Join Couchsurfing to see Dominic's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile